NCA Doctoral Honors Seminar

NCA Doctoral Honors Seminar

The NCA Doctoral Honors Seminars (DHS) bring together promising doctoral students and distinguished faculty members from across the discipline and around the nation to discuss current topics in Communication. The seminars are held annually at a selected host institution. Approximately 30 doctoral students are chosen to participate based on submitted papers and recommendations from their advisors. Selected students will receive a travel voucher to put toward their travel to the DHS; all accommodations and other expenses are also provided.

The NCA Doctoral Honors Seminar (DHS) brings together promising doctoral students and distinguished faculty members from across the discipline and around the nation to discuss current topics in Communication. The 2021 seminar took place virtually Wednesday, July 14 – Friday, July 16. Twenty-eight doctoral students represented 25 colleges and universities across 17 states and four countries including Canada, India, South Africa, and the United States.

There were three seminar tracts: Mass Media/Mass Communication, Social Science, and Rhetoric and Performance Studies. Faculty mentors for the 2021 DHS included: Omotayo Banjo (University of Cincinnati), Elizabeth Behm-Morawitz (University of Missouri), Byran Denham (Clemson University), Victoria J. Gallagher (North Carolina State University), Jakob D. Jensen (University of Utah), Andre E. Johnson (University of Memphis), Yeonsoo Kim (James Madison University), Carol Mills (Florida Atlantic University), Ashley Muddiman (University of Kansas), Vincent N. Pham (Willamette University), Heidi M. Rose (Villanova University), and Xiaoquan Zhao (George Mason University).

Students selected to participate in the 2021 Doctoral Honors Seminar included:

Irena Acic, University of California – Davis
Bernadette A. Bowen, Bowling Green State University
Chelsea Butkowski, Cornell University
Leah Dajches, University of Arizona
Daniel J. DeVinney, University of Illinois
Christopher Garcia, Florida State University
Molly Han, University of Kansas
Sophie Jones, University of New Mexico
Keisuke Kimura, University of New Mexico
Madison Krall, University of Utah
Kristina Lee, Colorado State University
Danni Liao, University of Illinois
Timothy P. Luisi, University of Missouri
Anthony T. Machette, University of Oklahoma
Seth P. McCullock, Purdue University
Arti A. Nadkarni, Texas A&M University
Beatriz Nieto-Fernandez, University of South Florida
Sisandra Nkoala, University of Cape Town
Dakota Park-Ozee, University of Texas
Jessica Rauchberg, McMaster University
Shilpa Sawant, S.P. Jain Institute of Management and Research
Susanna F. Scott, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
Soo Young Shin, Michigan State University
Corrine M. Sugino, University of Pittsburgh
Michael Vosburg, North Dakota State University
Kelly M. Weikle, Ohio University
Weimiao Zhou, University of Kansas
Yanmengqian Zhou, Pennsylvania State University

In light of the Coronavirus/COVID-19 outbreak, NCA and our hosts at Colorado State University postponed the 2020 Doctoral Honors Seminar.  

2019 DHS Participants

The annual Doctoral Honors Seminar was held July 21–24, 2019 and hosted by the Department of Communication at the University of South Florida. Thirty doctoral students from more than 20 Communication doctoral programs attended the DHS, where they worked with distinguished researchers to discuss current topics and research within Communication Studies, Media and Society, and Rhetoric and/or Performance Studies.

This year’s DHS, themed “Communication, Engagement, and Social Justice” was led by faculty seminar leaders Erin Donovan (University of Texas), Rachel Griffin (University of Utah), Matt McAllister (The Pennsylvania State University), Mark McPhail (Indiana University), James Olufowote (University of Oklahoma), Belinda Stillion Southard (University of Georgia), Tracy Stephenson Shaffer (Louisiana State University), Jan Van den Bulck (University of Michigan), and Heather Zoller (University of Cincinnati).

The annual Doctoral Honors Seminar (DHS) was hosted by the Department of Communication Studies at Vanderbilt University, July 23-26, 2018. The theme of the 2018 DHS is “Communicating Intersections” and faculty leaders included Carlos Alemán (James Madison University), Jiyeon Kang (University of Iowa), Claire Sisco King (Vanderbilt), Kate Magsamen-Conrad (University of Iowa), Roopali Mukherjee (Queens College), Cindy Koenig Richards (Willamette University), Paul Stob (Vanderbilt), Dave Tell (University of Kansas), and Steven Wilson (University of South Florida).

Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN

July 23-26, 2018