2013 Doctoral Honors Seminar

July 18 - 21, 2013
Department of Communication & Journalism
University of Maine
Orono, ME
United States

In 2013, the NCA Doctoral Honors Seminar was hosted by the University of Maine's Department of Communication & Journalism from July 18-21, 2013, at the Schoodic Education & Research Center in Acadia National Park on the Atlantic coast. "Research Collaboration on Disciplinary Frontiers: Spanning Methodological Boundaries--Communication & the Environment, Rhetoric & Materiality, and Digital Media Convergence" is the theme.

The conference organizers were Nate Stormer and Bridie McGreavy from the University of Maine. Faculty leaders included Robert Brookey (Northern Illinois University),  Stephen DePoe (University of Cincinnati), Greg Dickinson (Colorado State University), David Gunkel (Northern Illinois University), Laura Lindenfield (University of Maine), Tema Milstein (University of New Mexico), Brian Ott (University of Colorado-Denver), and Nate Stormer (University of Maine).

The doctoral students selected to attend the 2013 Doctoral Honors Seminar were chosen from a highly competitive pool of applications/nominations and represent nineteen doctoral programs from around the country. They are:

  • Cynthia Bateman, University of South Carolina​
  • Bryan Behrenshausen, University of North Carolina
  • Sarah Bell, University of Utah
  • Maria Blevins, University of Utah
  • Tovar Cerulli, University of Massachusetts
  • Roberta Cheverette, Arizona State University
  • Katherine Cooper, University of Illinois
  • Brian Cozen, University of Utah
  • David DeIuliis, Duquesne University
  • Mary Domenico, University of North Carolina
  • Emily Winderman Hallsby, University of Georgia
  • Brook Irving, University of Iowa
  • Eunice Kim, University of Texas
  • Bridie McGreavy, University of Maine
  • Lindsey Meeks, University of Washington
  • Ben Morton, University of Iowa
  • Renu Pariyadath, University of Iowa
  • Marie-Louise Paulesc, Arizona State University
  • Renee Powers, University of Illinois-Chicago
  • Aaron Philips, University of Utah
  • Pamela Pietrucci, University of Washington
  • Jessica Rich, University of North Carolina
  • Jessica Rudy, Indiana University
  • Elizabeth Schwarz, University of California-Riverside
  • Yvonne Slosarski, University of Maryland
  • Scott Tulloch, Georgia State University
  • Yuanxin Wang, Temple University
  • Justine Wells, University of South Carolina
  • Julie Wight, University of Minnesota