2017 NCA Doctoral Honors Seminar

July 27 - 30, 2017
Bowling Green University
Bowling Green, OH
United States

"Communication in a Post-Truth Age"

The annual Doctoral Honors Seminar (DHS) was held July 27-30, 2017, in Bowling Green, OH. The School of Media & Communication hosted the 2017 DHS, which was attended by thirty doctoral students from 23 different doctoral programs. 

Faculty seminar leaders for the 2017 DHS: 

  • Steve Duck, University of Iowa
  • Stephen Haas, University of Cincinnati
  • Sandra Faulkner, Bowling Green State University
  • Alberto Gonzalez,  Bowling Green State University
  • Louisa Ha, Bowling Green State University
  • Susan Kline, Ohio State University
  • Mark Orbe, Western Michigan University
  • Jenny Rice, University of Kentucky
  • Saif Shahin, Bowling Green State University
  • John Sloop, Vanderbilt University

Students selected to participate in the 2017 DHS:

  • Victoria Alcazar (Massachusetts)
  • Gretchen Bergquist (Nebraska)
  • Donovan Bisbee (Illinois)
  • Victoria Brown (Southern Mississippi)
  • Scott Owen Chappuis (Bowling Green)
  • Dhiman Chattopadhyay (Bowling Green)
  • Cody Clemens (Bowling Green)
  • Calvin Coker (Missouri)
  • Aras Coskuntuncel (American)
  • Di Cui (Florida State)
  • Elizabeth Earle (Texas A&M)
  • Amanda Friz (Wisconsin)
  • Rhana Gittens (Georgia State)
  • Brittany-Rae Gregory (Howard)
  • Karl Haase (Utah)
  • Julia Hildebrand (Drexel)
  • Amanda Irions (Maryland)
  • Jenny Korn (Illinois-Chicago)
  • Robert Layne (Utah)
  • Reyhaneh Maktoufi (Northwestern)
  • Jillian Moga (Illinois)
  • David Miguel Molina (Northwestern)
  • Jacob Nelson (Webster)
  • Mi Young Park (Southern Ilinois)
  • Tara Pixley (UC-San Diego)
  • David Proper (American)
  • Shawn Starcher (Kent State)
  • Christopher Scott Thomas (Iowa)
  • David Torres (Purdue)
  • Daniel Totzkay (Michigan State)