Rhetorical and Communication Theory Division

Rhetorical and Communication Theory Division logo

Members of the Rhetorical and Communication Theory (RCT) Division study theoretical, critical, and empirical questions related to the field of rhetorical studies and communication theory. This division sponsors panels and presentations at the Annual Convention and presents awards to the authors of top papers. The RCT Division provides a space wherein scholars and teachers with diverse interests can come together to contribute to theorizing the field.


2023 RCT Division Election is Now Open!

Deadline to Vote is Wednesday, December 18!


2023 Interest Group Leadership

  • Chair: Amira de la Garza
  • Vice Chair: Suzanne Enck
  • Vice Chair-Elect: Diana Martinez
  • Immediate Past Chair: Caitlin Bruce
  • Secretary: Raisa Alvarado Uchima
  • Awards Committee:  Diane Keeling
  • Nominating Committee
    • Maryam Ahmadi
    • Darrian Carroll
    • Cassidy Ellis
    • Joshua Ewalt
    • Hailey Otis

2023 NCA Positions

  • Legislative Assembly
    • Caitlin Bruce
    • Amira de la Garza
    • Suzanne Enck
    • Diana Martinez
  • Nominating Committee
    • Caitlin Bruce

RCTD Membership (2013-2023)

*Official membership count is taken every January.

109th Annual Convention -- National Harbor, MC -- November 16 - 19, 2023. 

Convention Calls
  • RCTD Call  -- Deadline: Thursday, March 29, 2023 at 11:59 PM Pacific.


Business Meeting Minutes