2019 Rhetorical and Communication Theory Division Business Meeting

National Communication Association Annual Conference Baltimore, MD Friday, November 15th 2019, 11:00a.m.-12:15 p.m.

MINUTES

- 1 Call to Order (Nina Maria Lozano, Vice-Chair) Nina called the meeting to order at 8:03am Acknowledge the land
- 2 Approval of 2018 Minutes (Jenna N. Hanchey, Secretary)
 Jenna called for a motion from the floor to approve the 2018 minutes. Moved and seconded from the floor. Minutes approved at 8:04.
- 3 Division Elections (Michaela Frischherz, Chair of Nominating Committee)

Michaela thanks the Nominating Committee, and leads the division elections. Candidates introduce themselves to the division, giving a short bio and discussion of interest in positions. All were very complimentary toward the people they were running with/against. A few candidates were introduced in absentia by Michaela. Candidates were running for the following offices:

Vice Chair Elect: Caitlin Bruce, Abraham Khan, Attila Halsby (1 person to be elected)

Award Committee Ballot: Emily Winderman, Paul Johnson, Whitney Gent, Casey Schmitt (1 person to be elected)

Nominating Committee: Christopher Thomas, Shereen Yousuf, Amanda Friz, Heather Roy, and Marnie Ritchie (4 people to be elected)

Agenda amended to do awards next

4 - Division Awards (Daniel C. Brouwer and Nina Maria Lozano)

The first three division awards were announced by Dan Brouwer, chair of the awards committee. Next year the chair will be Barbara Biesecker. Announces each recipient, provides a "collage of affirmations" from their letters of support, which was beautiful and encouraging to hear. The recipients come forward to receive a plaque, and get their pictures taken. Enthusiastic congratulations offered to all winners!

-Distinguished Scholar Award: Lisa A. Flores

-Early Career Award: Caitlin Frances Bruce

-Faculty Mentorship Award: Bernadette Marie Calafell and Joan Faber McAlister The top student paper award was announced by Nina. Notably, the top student paper was also the division's top paper.

-Nichols-Ehninger Award-Top Student Paper and Top Paper: Dominique Alexandra Salas

5 - Legislative Assembly Report (Nina Maria Lozano, Vice-Chair)

There are three items of note: it was a very short meeting, and they will not meet on Saturday morning. It ran very smoothly. The resolution condemning white supremacy passed overwhelmingly. The proposal for the new Communication and the Military division passed. We had the elections for the Committee on Committees, two new representatives elected: Nina and D. L. Stevenson.

- 6 Program Planner's Report (Nina Maria Lozano, Vice-Chair) Papers: 90 submission, 70 acceptances.
 13 submissions, 10 acceptances Discussion panels
 37 submission, 30 accepted – Paper panels
- 7 NCA 2020 Preview (Megan Morrissey, Vice-Chair Elect)

Indianapolis: Communication at the Crossroads. That's because Indy is considered the crossroads of America. The NCA leadership has encouraged to think about connect and convergence, as well as orientation and direction. Excited to see everyone in Indy next year. Megan passes around a sign-up sheet for reviewers for next year's conference. Will also circulate a google doc in January.

8 - Old Business

None that we know of.

9 - Election Results (Michaela Frischherz, Chair of Nominating Committee)

Vice Chair-Elect: Caitlin Bruce Award Committee: Whitney Gent Nominating Committee: Marnie Ritchie, Heather Roy, Amanda Friz, and Shereen Yousuf (Chair)

- 10 Candidacy Statements None.
- 11 Announcements from the Floor

Jenna announces a special issue in Management Communication Quarterly on new directions in feminist theorizing Emily Winderman announces a 2020 preconference on RSTEM social justice for the Association for the Rhetoric of Science, Technology and Medicine

12 - Adjournment

Nina thanks everyone for the invisible labor to run the division, and adjourns the meeting at 8:41

2019 Division Officers: Chair: Bernadette Marie Calafell, Gonzaga University; Vice-Chair: Nina Maria Lozano, Loyola Marymount University, Vice-Chair Elect: Megan Morrissey, University of North Texas; Secretary: Jenna N. Hanchey, University of Nevada, Reno; Past Chair: Lisa Corrigan, University of Arkansas

2019 Awards Committee Members: Daniel C. Brouwer, Arizona State University (Chair); Barbara Biesecker, University of Georgia; Kundai Chirindo, Lewis & Clark College

2019 Nominating Committee: Michaela Frischherz, Towson University (Chair); KC Councilor, Southern Connecticut State University; Kevin L. Musgrave, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Lisa Silvestri, Gonzaga University