Rhetorical and Communication Theory Division

Interest Group Awards

Listed here are awards given by the Interest Group to its members. Interests Groups are smaller communities within NCA's large membership that provide a range of resources including networking opportunities, Annual Convention programming, leadership opportunities, awards, and specialized information dissemination channels, among others.

Read more about this Interest Group.

Early Career Award (formerly New Investigator Award)

Year Award Winner
2020 Justin Eckstein
2019 Caitlin Frances Bruce
2018 Michele Kennerly
2017 Casey Ryan Kelly
2016 Josue David Cisneros
2015 Robin E. Jensen
2014 Scott Stroud
2013 Erin Rand
2012 Claire Sisco King
2011 Jeremy Engels
2010 Jeff Bennett
2009 Bradford J. Vivian
2008 Phaedra Pezzullo
2007 Debra Hawhee
2006 Joshua Gunn
2005 Cara Finnegan
2004 Robert Asen
2003 M. Lane Bruner
2002 Eric King Watts
2001 Kirt Wilson
2000 Raka Home and Lisa Flores
1998 Bryan Taylor
1996 Edward Schiappa

Faculty Mentorship Award

Year Award Winner
2020 Daniel Brouwer
2019 Joan Faber McAlister
2019 Bernadette Marie Calafell
2018 Rosa Eberly
2017 Cara Finnegan
2016 Angela G. Ray
2015 Barbara Biesecker
2013 Vanessa Beasley

Distinguished Scholar Award

Year Award Winner
2020 Raka Shome
2019 Lisa A. Flores
2018 Ekaterina Haskins
2017 Debra Hawhee
2016 Charles E. Morris III
2015 Kent Ono
2014 Robert Asen
2013 John M. Sloop
2012 Dana Cloud
2011 Barbara Biesecker
2010 Carole Blair
2009 Alan Gross
2007 JThomas Frentz
2006 Edward Schiappa
2005 Dan O'Keefe
2004 James Aune
2003 Gerard Hauser
2002 John Lucaites
2000 Robert Hariman
1999 G. Thomas Goodnight
1998 Thomas Farrell
1996 Brant Burleson

Nichols-Ehninger Award for Top Student Paper

Year Award Winner
2020 Noor Ghazal Aswad, "Radical Rhetoric: Towards a Telos of Solidarity"
2019 Dominique Salas, “Decolonizing Exigency: Settler Exigencies in the Winnebago Mission Home”
2018 Joe Hatfield
2017 Kelsey Lahr
2016 Jenna Hanchey
2015 Amanda Neil Edgar, “Material Networks, Rhetorical Fluidity, and the Sensory Voice”
2014 Amanda Neil Edgar, “Vocal Intimacy and the Sonic Dimensions of Race”
2012 Lee Pierce, “Hijacking History: Reconciling the Nation-State in the Canadian Indian Residential Schools Controversy”
1990 Barbara Zeltzer
1989 Ruth Slavin
1988 Don Paul Jones
1987 Robin Reese
1986 Stephen D. O'Leary