Environmental Communication Division

Environmental Communication Division logo

The Environmental Communication Division is a multidisciplinary effort to support a broad audience of academics, professionals, and practitioners in the sharing and building of theoretical, critical, and applied scholarship addressing environmental communication in a variety of contexts. We believe all communication involves an environmental dimension, because symbolic and natural systems are mutually constituted. Humans are one part of the broader ecosystems and cultures we inhabit, both shaping and shaped by our corporeal, intellectual, spiritual, emotional, and physical alienation from and proximity to those spaces and communities.To explore these rich and significant connections, we encourage both qualitative and quantitative scholarship and pedagogy that showcases and advances our understanding of the production, reception, contexts, or processes of human communication regarding environmental issues. Many members of the division also belong to the International Environmental Communication Association (http://theieca.org/) in order to participate in an international cadre of researchers and practitioners.


Division website

2024 Interest Group Leadership

  • Chair: Danielle Endres, University of Utah
  • Vice Chair & Program Planner: Muhammed Ittefaq, James Madison University
  • Vice-President Elect: Mariko Oyama Thomas, Central New Mexico Community College
  • Immediate Past Chair: Carlos Tarin, University of Texas, El Paso
  • Secretary: Sabiha Khan, University of Texas, El Paso
  • Publications Directors: 
    • Joanne Marras Tate, University of Colorado, Boulder
    • Warren Cook, University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Teaching  Committee Chair: Nicolas Hernandez, University of Utah
  • Nominating Committee Chair: Sabiha Khan, University of Texas, El Paso
  • Student Representative Chair: Erin Keoppen, University of Washington
  • Diversity, Inclusion and Outreach Committee Chair: Muhammed Ittefaq, James Madison University
  • ECD Awards Committee Chair: Carlos Tarin, University of Texas, El Paso


2024 NCA Positions

  • Legislative Assembly
    • Mariko Oyama Thomas, Central New Mexico Community College
    • Muhammed Ittefaq, James Madison University
  • NCA Nominating Committee
    • Danielle Endres, University of Utah

ECD Membership (2013-2024)

*Official count taken each January.


Award Calls


Business Meeting Minutes