Environmental Communication Division

Interest Group Awards

Listed here are awards given by the Interest Group to its members. Interests Groups are smaller communities within NCA's large membership that provide a range of resources including networking opportunities, Annual Convention programming, leadership opportunities, awards, and specialized information dissemination channels, among others.

Read more about this Interest Group.

Tarla Rai Peterson Book Award in Environmental Communication (Formerly the Christine L. Oravec Research Award in Environmental Communication (book category))

Year Award Winner
2019 Leilani Nishime and Kim D. Hester Williams (editors), Racial Ecologies
2018 Bridie McGreavy, Justine Wells, George F. McHendry Jr., & Samantha Senda-Cook, Tracing Rhetoric and Material Life: Ecological Approaches
2017 Tema Milstein, Mairi Pileggi, and Eric Morgan, Environmental Communication Pedagogy and Practice."
2016 Jen Schneider, Steve Schwarze, Peter K. Bsumek, and Jennifer Peeples
2015 Myria Allen, Strategic Communication for Sustainable Organizations: Theory and Practice (Springer, 2015)
2014 Anna Marie Todd, Communicating Environmental Patriotism: A Rhetorical History of the American Environmental Movement (Routledge, 2013)
2013 Emily Plec, Perspectives on Human-Animal Communication: Internatural Communication (Routledge, 2012)
2011 Brendan Larson, Metaphors for environmental sustainability: Redefining our relationship with nature (Yale University Press, 2011)
2010 Danielle Endres, Leah Sprain, and Tarla Rai Peterson, Social Movement to Address Climate Change (Cambria, 2009)
2008 Bryan Taylor, Stephen Depoe, William Kinsella, and Maribeth Metzler, Nuclear legacies: Communication, controversy, and the U.S. nuclear weapons complex (Lexington Books, 2007)
2007 Phaedra Pezzullo, Toxic tourism: Rhetorics of pollution, travel, and environmental justice (University of Alabama Press, 2007)
2006 Robert Cox

Christine L. Oravec Research Award in Environmental Communication (journal manuscript)

Year Award Winner
2019 Constance Gordon & Kathleen Hunt, "Reform, Justice, and Sovereignty: A Food Systems Agenda for Environmental Communication"
2017 Tema Milstein, "The Performer Metaphor: 'Mother Nature Never Gives Us the Same Show Twice'"
2016 Bridie McGreavy, "Resilience as Discourse", Environmental Communication 10(1), 104-121
2015 William Kinsella, Dorothy Andreas, and Danielle Endres (2015) “Communicating Nuclear Power: a Programmatic Review”, Communication Yearbook 39, 277-310
2014 Pete Bsumek, Jen Schneider, Steve Schwarze, and Jennifer Peeples, “Corporate Ventriloquism”, Under Pressure Coal Industry Rhetoric and Neoliberalism (pp. 51-76) Palgrave Macmilliam UK.
2013 Donal Carbaugh and Tovar Cerulli (2013), “Cultural Discourses of Dwelling: Investigating Environmental Communication as a Place-Based Practice”, Environmental Communication 7(1), 4-23
2012 Jennifer Peeples (2013), “Toxic sublime: Imagining contaminated landscapes”, Environmental Communication 5 (4), 373-392
2011 Michael Salvador and Tracylee Clarke (2010), “The Weyekin Principle: Toward an embodied critical rhetoric”, Environmental Communication 5(34), 243-260
2010 Ross Singer (2010), “Neoliberal style, the American re-generation, and ecological jeremiad in Thomas Friedman’s ‘Code Green’”, Environmental Communication 4(2), 135-151
2009 Tema Milstein, “When Wales ‘speak for themselves’: Communication as a mediating force in wildlife tourism”, Environmental Communication 2(2), 173-192
2006 William Kinsella

Stephen P. Depoe Book Chapter Award in Environmental Communication

Year Award Winner
2019 Carlos Tarin, "Fronteras Tóxicas: Toward a Borderland Ecological Consciousness"
2017 Danielle Endres, Brian Cozen, Joshua Trey Barnett, Megan O'byrne, and Tarla Rai Peterson, "Communicating Energy in a Climate (of) Crisis"

J. Robert Cox Award in Environmental Communication and Civic Engagement

Year Award Winner
2019 Phaedra C. Pezzullo
2018 Gregg B. Walker
2017 James G. Cantrill
2016 Jonathan Gray
2015 Leah Sprain
2014 Pete Bsumek
2013 Stephen Depoe
2012 Susan Senecah

Recognition of Excellence in Service

Year Award Winner
2011 Todd Norton

Top Student Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2019 Jacob Miller, "Surviving the Anthropocene calls for an ecospheric rhetoric"
2018 Kevin Calderwood, "Going Global: Climate Change Discourse in Presidential Communictions"
2017 Stephanie Marek Muller, "Where the Buffalo Roam(ed): Frontier Yearnings and the 'Last Big Buffalo Hunt' of 1926"
2016 Joshua Trey Barnett, "Ecological Thanatorhetorics: Death and Environmentalism" 
2015 Piper Corp, “Surviving evolution with rhetoric: Tapping the resources of Burke’s symbol-using animal in a Latourian world”
2014 Kathleen de Onis, “Eco-delinking: Extracting natural gas advocacy rhetoric and exploring its implications for Puerto Rico and beyond”
2013 Casey R. Schmitt, “If a Text Falls in the Woods…: Intertextuality, Environmental Perception, and the Non-Authored Text”
2012 Deborah Cox Callister, “Humor as Rhetorical Strategy: Comic and Melodramatic Frames in Environmental Coalition Building”
2011 Patrick Belanger, “Defending the Fort: Michael Crichton, Pulp Fiction, and Green Conspiracy”
2010 Keally DeWitt, “The (priestly) voice of the scientist in the climate change debate: A rhetorical analysis of Dr. James Hansen’s ‘Global Warming Twenty Years Later: Tipping Points Near’”

Top Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2019 Haoran Chu & Janet Yang , "Emotion and the Psychological Distance of Climate Change"
2018 Ross Singer, "On Ecofeminist Theory and the Promise of Ecofeminist Communication Studies"
2017 Stephanie Marek Muller, "Where the Buffalo Roam(ed): Frontier Yearnings and the 'Last Big Buffalo Hunt' of 1926"
2016 Abel Gustafson and Ronald Rice, "Reducing the Uncertainty and Controversy about Uncertainty and Controversy Framing in Research on Climate Change Journalism"
2015 Jessica Thompson and Jose Aburto, “Ecosystem-what? Public understanding and trust in conservation science and ecosystem services”
2014 Jen Schneider, Steven Schwarze, Peter Bsumek, and Jennifer Peeples, “The strategic ambiguity of clean coal rhetoric”
2013 Teresa Myers, John Kotcher, Neil Stenhouse, Ashley Anderson, and Edward W. Maibach, “Predictors of Trust in the General and Climate Scientific Research of US Federal Scientific Organizations”
2012 Mahuya Pal and J. Jacob Jenkins, “Reimagining sustainability: An interrogation of the Corporate Knights’ Global 100”
2011 Anna Marie Todd, “Toward a Theory of Environmental Patriotism”
2010 Ross Singer, “The USDA People’s Garden Initiative and the rhetorical suppression of environmental and agro-food industry sustainability”

Dissertation Award in Environmental Communication

Year Award Winner
2019 Constance Gordon, Troubling “Access”: Rhetorical Cartographies of Food (In)Justice and Gentrification
2018 Abel T. Gustafson, "The Nature and Effects of Uncertainty Frames in Science Communication"
2017 Catalina de Onis, "Energy Remix: Decolonial Discourses of Decarbonization"

Outstanding Voice in Environmental Communication

Year Award Winner
2019 Catalina de Onis