NCA Member News and Notes

October 12, 2022

In the Media 

In a New York Times letter to the editor, Steven A. Beebe, a former NCA president, advocates for making “communication courses an integral part of contemporary education.”

In the Texas Speech Communication Journal, Communication scholars turn to NCA members to assess and provide best practices for delivering an effective conference presentation in their article, “Practice What We Preach: National Communication Association Members Define Effective Conference Presentations and Provide Suggestions for their Improvement.” The authors: DeAnne Priddis, Middle Tennessee State University, Piyawan Charoensap-Kelly, Southern Methodist University, and Narissra Maria Punyanunt-Carter, Texas Tech University. Note: The journal does not provide links to its articles.


NCA Salutes Its 2022 National Award Winners

NCA honors the best achievements in outstanding teaching, scholarship, and professional service. This year, more than 30 Communication scholars will receive awards at the 108th Annual Convention in New Orleans, Louisiana for achievements in more than 25 categories, including distinguished service, excellent publishing scholarship, and outstanding teaching. 

For a complete list of 2022 award winners, please click here: NCA Award Winners 


Celebrating NCA’s 2022 Lambda Pi Eta Award Winners

Lambda Pi Eta (LPH), NCA’s official honor society for four-year colleges and universities, offers five opportunities for outstanding chapters, chapter advisors, and students to receive national recognition for their embodiment of the six goals of Lambda Pi Eta. The winners will receive their awards on November 19 during the LPH Business Meeting at the NCA Annual Convention in New Orleans.

Congratulations to this year’s awardees:

Chapter of the Year – Lambda, The College of Wooster

Advisor of the Year – Ashley George, Samford University

Rookie Chapter of the Year – Alpha Zeta Chi, Bemidji State University

Rookie Advisor of the Year – Tiffani Luethke, University of Nebraska-Kearney

Posthumous Rookie Advisor of the Year – Jennifer Bender, Tuskegee University

Learn more about the LPH Awards.