Asian/Pacific American Communication Studies Division

Asian/Pacific American Communication Studies Division logo

The purpose of the Asian/Pacific American Communication Studies Division is to explore various cultural issues, politics, and strategies of engagement within Asian/Pacific American culture and examine power relationships among cultural communities. It encourages scholarship that explores ways to create dialogue on diasporic/transnational challenges and how diverse cultural identities intersect in the context of inter-Asia/Americas. The division works with the Asian/Pacific American Caucus to cultivate connections among these scholars and sponsor a business meeting, panels, and paper presentations at the NCA’s Annual Convention. 

2024 Interest Group Leadership

  • Chair: Zhuo Ban, University of Cincinnati
  • Vice Chair: Andy Kai-chun Chuang, La Guardia Community College
  • Vice Chair-Elect: Emi Kanemoto, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
  • Second Vice Chair-Elect: Colby Miyose, University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo
  • Immediate Past Chair: Ali Na, Queen's University
  • Secretary: Keisuke Kimura, Colorado State University
  • Nominating Committee
    • Min Wha Han, West Texas A&M University
    • Shaunak Sastry, University of Cincinnati
  • Student Representatives
    • Anh Nguyen, University of New Mexico
    • Jin Choi, University of Maryland
    • Grace Rogers, University of Washington
    • Curtis Ladrillo Chamblee, University of Memphis


2024 NCA Positions

  • Legislative Assembly

    • Andy Kai-chun Chuang, LaGuardia Community College
    • Emi Kanemoto, Southern Illinois University
  • NCA Nominating Committee

    • Ali Na, Queen's University

APACSD Membership (2013-2024)

*Official membership count is taken every January. 


Award Calls


Business Meeting Minutes