Philosophy of Communication Division

Philosophy of Communication Division logo

The Philosophy of Communication Interest Group interrogates the relationship between philosophical frameworks and our understanding of communication. The Interest Group explores the overlaps, intersections, and complements between philosophy and communication. We provide an academic home for work that addresses communication from a philosophical orientation and/or philosophy from a communication perspective, both broadly defined. The Interest Group is open to all traditions of philosophical inquiry (ancient, medieval, modern, contemporary, postmodern, western, eastern, analytic, continental) and is supportive of semiotic, phenomenological, hermeneutic, critical, psychoanalytic, communicological, narrative, dialogical, and other methodologies that examine communicative experience.

2023 Interest Group Leadership

  • Chair: Andrew Tinker
  • Vice Chair: Ryan D'Souze
  • Vice Chair-Elect: Melinda Farrington
  • Immediate Past Chair: Marianne Pabis

2023 NCA Positions

  • Legislative Assembly
    • Marianne Pabis
    • Andrew Tinker

PCD Membership (2013-2023)

*Official count taken each January.

109th Annual Convention -- National Harbor, MD -- November 16 - 19, 2023.


Convention Resources

  • PCD Call  -- Deadline: Thursday, March 29, 2023 at 11:59 PM Pacific.
Award Calls


Business Meeting Minutes
Interest Group Election