NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of Wisconsin, Department of Communication Arts

The Department of Communication Arts at the University of Wisconsin-Madison has long been one of the world's leading centers for study and research in communication. It was the first department in the United States to award a Ph.D. degree in the field, and its graduates serve on the faculties of leading universities, in research institutions, and in public and private agencies throughout this country and abroad.

Association of American Universities Member


Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-19: 157


Areas of Study

  • Communication Science
  • Film
  • Media & Cultural Studies
  • Rhetoric, Politics, & Culture


QS World University RankingsCommunication & Media Studies 

  • #12 of 200 World Universities

URAP University RankingsLanguage, Communication, & Culture

  • #5 of 300 World Universities

Admission Requirements

  • Statement of purpose
  • Three letters of recommendation
  • Official GRE Scores
  • Transcripts
  • Writing Sample

Graduate Faculty

  • Professor Robert Asen, Ph.D., Northwestern University
  • Associate Professor Maria Belodubrovskaya, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Professor Kelley Conway, Ph.D., UCLA
  • Professor Jonathan Gray, Ph.D., University of London
  • Professor Robert Glenn Howard, Ph.D., University of Oregon
  • Associate Professor Eric Hoyt, Ph.D., University of Southern California
  • Professor Lea Jacobs, Ph.D., UCLA
  • Professor Derek Johnson, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Associate Professor Jenell Johnson, Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
  • Assistant Professor Jason Kido Lopez, Ph.D., Indiana University
  • Associate Professor Lori Lopez, Ph.D., University of Southern California
  • Professor Marie-Louise Mares, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Associate Professor Sara McKinnon, Ph.D., Arizona State University
  • Associate Professor Jeremy Morris, Ph.D., McGill University
  • Professor Zhongdang Pan, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Assistant Professor Allison M. Prasch, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
  • Associate Professor Ben Singer, Ph.D., New York University
  • Professor Jeff Smith, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Associate Professor Catalina L. Toma, Ph.D., Cornell University
  • Professor Lyn Van Swol, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Professor Michael Xenos, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Professor Susan Zaeske, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Students, 2000-present

  • Golden Anniversary Monograph Award, 2001, 2003, 2018
  • Winans-Wichelns Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address, 2004, 2010
  • Wallace Memorial Award, 2001, 2013