NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of Washington, Department of Communication

The University of Washington Department of Communication graduate program is built on four core principles: pluralism, interdisciplinary theorizing, collaboration, and public scholarship. These principles have shaped every facet of the program, such as the core courses, committee structure, and admissions policy.

Association of American Universities Member


Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-19: 68


Areas of Study

  • Communication and Difference
  • Communication Technology and Society
  • Interpersonal Communication
  • Journalism Studies
  • Rhetoric
  • Organizing and Structures
  • Political Communication


QS World University Rankings--Communication & Media Studies

  • #51-100 of 200 World Universities

URAP University Rankings—Language, Communication & Culture 

  • #14 of 300 World Universities

Admission Requirements

  • Online Graduate School application
  • Application fee
  • Unofficial transcripts
  • Three letters of recommendation
  • Letter of intent
  • Writing Sample
  • Resume/CV

Graduate Faculty

  • Professor Leah Ceccarelli, Ph.D., Northwestern University
  • Professor Kirsten Foot, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego
  • Assistant Professor Amanda Friz, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Associate Professor Carmen Gonzalez, Ph.D., University of Southern California
  • Professor Christine Harold, Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
  • Associate Professor Benjamin Mako Hill, Ph.D., MIT
  • Assistant Professor Yuan Hsiao, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Professor Ralina L. Joseph, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego
  • Assistant Professor Wang Liao, Ph.D., Cornell University
  • Professor Valerie Manusov, Ph.D., University of Southern California
  • Teaching Professor Matt McGarrity, Ph.D., University of Indiana
  • Professor Patricia Moy, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Professor Leilani Nishime, Ph.D., University of Michigan
  • Associate Professor Katy Pearce, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Associate Professor Matthew Powers, Ph.D., New York University
  • Professor Adrienne Russell, Ph.D., Indiana University
  • Assistant Professor Timeka Tounsel, Ph.D., University of Michigan
  • Professor Doug Underwood, M.A., Ohio State University

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Students, 2000-present

  • Becker Distinguished Service Award, 2003
  • Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award, 2003
  • Golden Outstanding Student Essay in Rhetoric Award, 2005
  • Woolbert Research Award, 2011
  • Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award, 2016