NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of Utah, Department of Communication

The graduate program in communication at the University of Utah provides training across the full spectrum of communication studies. Housed in one of the few fully integrated communication departments in the country, its primary mission is the preparation of the academic professional for a calling marked by excellence in scholarship, teaching and service. It also supports professional practice in organizations, conflict resolution, media and technology.

Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-17: 64


Areas of Study

  • CommSHER (Communicating Science, Health, Environment, and Risk)
  • Critical/Cultural Studies
  • Digital Media
  • Rhetoric


URAP University Rankings—Language, Communication & Culture 

  • #60 of 300 World Universities

Admission Requirements

  • Statement of personal and professional goals
  • Academic writing sample
  • A curriculum vita or short resume
  • GRE scores
  • Unofficial transcripts of all previous college and university coursework (official transcripts required upon admission)
  • Names and email addresses of three references

Graduate Faculty

  • Associate Professor Mark Bergstrom, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma 
  • Associate Professor Suhi Choi, Ph.D., Temple University
  • Associate Professor Kevin Coe, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Professor Julia B. Corbett, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
  • Associate Professor Ann L. Darling, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Professor Kevin M. Deluca, Ph.D., University of Iowa
  • Professor Danielle Endres, Ph.D., University of Washington 
  • Assistant Professor Joshua P. Ewalt, Ph.D., University of Nebraska
  • Associate Professor Glen M. Feighery, Ph.D., University of North Carolina
  • Associate Professor Robert W. Gehl, Ph.D., George Mason University
  • Assistant Professor Rachel Alicia Griffin, Ph.D., University of Denver
  • Professor Marouf A. Hasian, Ph.D., University of Georgia
  • Assistant Professor Avery Holton, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Assistant Professor Chris Ingraham, Ph.D., University of Colorado Boulder
  • Professor Jakob Daniel Jensen, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Professor Robin Elizabeth Jensen, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Professor Kimberly Kaphingst, Sc.D., Harvard School of Public Health
  • Associate Professor Sean T. Lawson, Ph.D., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Assistant Professor Tae Kyoung Lee, Ph.D., Cornell University
  • Associate Professor Kimberley Mangun, Ph.D., University of Oregon
  • Assistant Professor Shannon McGregor, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Assistant Professor Michael Keith Middleton, Ph.D., University of Utah
  • Assistant Professor Julia Moore, Ph.D., University of Nebraska
  • Professor Kent Alan Ono, Ph.D., University of Iowa
  • Professor Helene Shugart, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Associate Professor Ye Sun, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin 
  • Associate Professor David J. Vergobbi, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Assistant Professor Sara K. Yeo, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Students, 2000-present

  • Diamond Anniversary Book Award, 2006
  • Donald Cushman Memorial Award, 2017
  • Golden Anniversary Monograph Award, 2003, 2015, 2016
  • Wallace Memorial Award, 2015
  • Winans-Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address, 2017
  • Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award, 2018