NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of New Mexico, Department of Communication & Journalism

The Department of Communication & Journalism at the University of New Mexico creates excellence in learning through academic scholarship, teaching, and service to the community and the field. Our faculty are nationally and internationally renowned for their research and are known on campus as excellent teachers, regularly winning university-wide awards. Our students are diverse, on a domestic and global scale, and bring a passion for understanding, and engaging in, the role communication plays in the creation of our world. Our graduate program for M.A. and Ph.D degrees has a distinctive focus on the role of culture and change in communication.

Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-17: 76


Concentrations/Research Emphases

  • Intercultural Communication
  • Culture & Mass Communication
  • Culture & Health Communication


NRC Assessment of Research-Doctorate Programs

  • #54 of 83 programs in Research Output
  • #2 of 83 programs in Diversity

Allen, et al., 2012

  • #50 of 60 programs by Number of Citations


  • Top Ten Research Program in 15 of 99 Research Areas

Admission Requirements

  • Official transcripts from all previous universities
  • GRE test scores
  • Written Statement of Purpose/Letter of Intent
  • Application for Teaching or Research Assistantship (if applicable)
  • Resume or Academic Vita
  • Writing Sample
  • Three Letters of Recommendation

Graduate Faculty

  • Assistant Professor Marco Briziarelli, Ph.D., University of Colorado 
  • Associate Professor Shinsuke Eguchi, Ph.D., Howard University
  • Associate Professor Dirk Gibson, Ph.D., Indiana University
  • Associate Professor Tamar Ginossar, Ph.D., University of New Mexico
  • Associate Professor Susana Martinez-Guillem, Ph.D., University of Colorado
  • Assistant Professor Yang Sun Hong, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Associate Professor Ilia Rodriguez, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
  • Associate Professor Myra Washington, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Associate Professor David Weiss, Ph.D., University of New Mexico
  • Associate Professor Judith McIntosh White, Ph.D., Texas A&M University

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Students, 2000-present

  • Kibler Memorial Award, 2010
Research Specialties : 
Health Communication, Intercultural-International Communication, Mass Communication-Media Studies