NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

Stanford University, Department of Communication

The Ph.D. program in the Department of Communication at Stanford University prepares students to conduct original research on communication processes and effects, within the tradition of the social and behavioral sciences. Most of Stanford's doctoral graduates enter academic teaching and research careers, or communication-related professions that require research skills. After a core curriculum of courses in both quantitative and qualitative methods, statistics, and mass communication theory, each student builds a research specialization through advanced courses and seminars in Communication and related departments, research projects, teaching, and an examination in the area of concentration. These requirements are normally completed in four years, and the dissertation in the fifth year.

Association of American Universities Member


Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-19: 55


Areas of Study 

  • Media Psychology
  • Political Communication
  • Journalism, Media and Culture


QS World University RankingsCommunication & Media Studies

  • #2 of 200 World Universities

URAP University RankingsLanguage, Communication, & Culture

  • #26 of 300 World Universities

Admission Requirements 

  • Statement of Purpose
  • Transcripts
  • Resume
  • GRE Scores
  • TOEFL Scores (for international applicants)
  • Letters of Recommendation

Graduate Faculty 

  • Professor Jeremy Bailenson, Ph.D., Northwestern University
  • Assistant Professor Angèle Christin, Ph.D., Princeton University
  • Professor James S. Fishkin, Ph.D., Yale University
  • Professor James T. Hamilton, Ph.D., Harvard University
  • Professor Jeff Hancock, Ph.D., Dalhousie University
  • Assistant Professor Gabriella Harari, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Professor Shanto Iyengar, Ph.D., University of Iowa
  • Professor Jon A. Krosnick, Ph.D., University of Michigan
  • Assistant Professor Jennifer Pan, Ph.D., Harvard University
  • Professor Nathaniel Persily, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
  • Professor Byron Reeves, Ph.D., Michigan State University
  • Professor Fred Turner, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Students, 2000-present 

  • Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award, 2008
  • Golden Outstanding Student Essay in Rhetoric Award, 2008