NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

Georgia State University, Department of Communication

The Graduate Program in Communication at Georgia State University offers students a multi-disciplinary curriculum leading to the Ph.D. degree. The program is designed to prepare students for research and teaching in one of two primary areas of emphasis: public communication and moving image studies. Required core courses are designed to provide students with in depth training in communication pedagogy and the professional expectations of the discipline, as well as mentored experiences in both teaching and research.

Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-17: 48


Areas of Study

  • Media & Society
  • Moving Image Studies
  • Rhetoric & Politics


URAP University Rankings—Language, Communication & Culture 

  • #118 of 300 World Universities

Admission Requirements

  • Acceptable scores on the verbal and quantitative sections of the GRE exam. Currently the median combined verbal plus quantitative score for our doctoral students is around 1200. The minimum score for consideration for admission (combined verbal and quantitative) is 1000, with a verbal score of 500 or higher.
  • A high standard of overall undergraduate and M.A.-level achievement.
  • Three letters of recommendation from individuals who can evaluate the applicant's potential for doctoral work.
  • Official transcripts from all colleges/ universities the applicant has attended.
  • Personal statement of educational, research, and career goals.
  • A writing sample. Generally this is a researched, critical essay of standard article length (about 20 pages double-spaced).

Graduate Faculty

  • Assistant Professor Amelia Arsenault, Ph.D., University of Southern California
  • Associate Professor Jaye Atkinson, Ph.D., University of Kansas
  • Assistant Professor Nathan Atkinson, Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University
  • Associate Professor Jennifer Barker, Ph.D. UCLA
  • Assistant Professor Tim Barouch, Ph.D., Northwestern University
  • Professor Mia Bloom, Ph.D., Columbia University
  • Associate Professor Ly Bolia, M.F.A., New York University 
  • Professor Jack Boozer, Ph.D., Emory University
  • Professor Michael Lane Bruner, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Associate Professor David Cheshier, Ph.D., University of Iowa
  • Professor James Darsey, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Assistant Professor Patricia Davis, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego
  • Associate Professor Carrie P. Freeman, Ph.D., University of Oregon
  • Associate Professor Ted Friedman, Ph.D., Duke University
  • Associate Professor Yuki Fujioka, Ph.D., Washington State University
  • Professor Cynthia Hoffner, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin 
  • Associate Professor Anthony Lemieux, Ph.D., University of Connecticut 
  • Professor Phillip Lewis, Ph.D., Queensland University of Technology
  • Professor Greg Lisby, Ph.D., University of Tennessee
  • Professor Doug Metcalfe, M.B.A., Keller Graduate School of Management
  • Professor Marian Meyers, Ph.D., University of Iowa
  • Assistant Professor Shawn Powers, Ph.D., University of Southern California
  • Associate Professor Alessandra Raengo, Ph.D., New York University
  • Assistant Professor Maria Repnikova, Ph.D., University of Oxford
  • Associate Professor Angelo Restivo, Ph.D., University of Southern California
  • Associate Professor Daniel Robin, M.F.A., San Francisco State University
  • Professor Mary Ann Romski, Ph.D., University of Kansas
  • Professor Sheldon Schiffer, M.F.A., UCLA
  • Assistant Professor Sharon Shahaf, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Professor Greg Smith, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Professor Mary E. Stuckey, Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
  • Professor Leonard Teel, Ph.D., Georgia State University
  • Assistant Professor Ethan Tussey, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Associate Professor Niklas Vollmer, M.F.A., University of California, San Diego
  • Associate Professor Holley Wilkin, Ph.D., University of Southern California
  • Associate Professor Ann E. Williams, Ph.D., University of Michigan
  • Professor Carol Winkler, Ph.D., University of Maryland

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Students, 2000-present

  • Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression, 2015
  • Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation & Performance Studies, 2006