Mass Communication Division

Mass Communication Division logo

The Mass Communication Division is one of the largest divisions of NCA. Its members are engaged in research on and teaching of a wide range of topics relating to traditional and new media content, form, structures, effects, and processes using various methodologies (e.g., quantitative, qualitative, critical/interpretative). Members represent various strands of traditional mass communication theory, political economy, and critical/cultural studies. They also study (mass) media history, regulation, and industry. They represent the diversity in intellectual and scholarly traditions that make up the rich disciplinary history of the field of communication. Our mission is to provide a forum in which scholars and teachers with diverse interests and approaches can come together to contribute to the study of communication media in ways that draw from the strengths of the established traditions in order to address emerging issues relating to both traditional and new media.


  • Chair – Dr. Valerie Kretz - St. Nortbert College 
  • Vice Chair – Dr. Veronica Hefner – St. Mary’s College
  • Vice Chair-Elect – Dr. Matt Lapierre – University of Arizona
  • Immediate Past Chair – Dr. Laramie Taylor – University of California-Davis 
  • Secretary – Dr. Kristin Drogos – University of Michigan–Ann Arbor-
  • Secretary Elect-Dr. Ellie Yang – University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Publications and Web Editor – Dr. Rocky Dailey – South Dakota State University
  • Graduate Student Rep – Lauren Taylor – University of California-Davis
  • Graduate Student Rep Elect – John J. Brooks – Northwestern University
Nominating Committee 
  • Chair – Dr. Colin Kearney – University of Dayton 
  • Vice Chair Dr. Benjamin K. Smith – California State University – East Bay
  • Vice Chair-Elect – Dr. Cassandra Alexopoulos – University of Massachusetts-Boston
  • Representative – Dr. Jeanette Ruiz – University of California-Davis 
Research Committee
  • Chair – Dr. Joseph Hoffswell – Western Kentucky University 
  • First Vice-Chair – Dr. Arienne Ferchaud – Florida State University 
  • Second Vice Chair – Dr. David Stamps – Bentley University 
  • Second Vice Chair Elect – Dr. Hillary Gamble – Auburn University 
Legislative Assembly
  • Dr. Stan Tickton – Norfolk State University
  • TBD
  • TBD

MCD Membership 

Official count taken every January. 

108th Annual Convention -- New Orleans, LA -- Nov. 17 - 20, 2022

Convention Calls
  • MCD Call -- Deadline: Thu, 3/31 2022 3:00 AM EDT
Award Calls
Business Meeting Minutes
Interest Group Election