Family Communication Division

Family Communication Division logo

The Family Communication Division exists to stimulate research on family communication; develop and disseminate pedagogical materials for instruction about family communication; facilitate dialogues among those interested in the study of family interaction, both within and outside of the Association; and plan convention programs dealing with family communication. The Division upholds the belief that “family” is constituted in and through our human abilities to communicate and to co-construct meaning. Members examine a variety of family forms, as well as a variety of family communication issues and constructs, including issues of identity, attachment, dialectical tensions, family violence, conflict, divorce, (grand)parenting, storytelling, health, and affection, to name a few.

2024 Interest Group Leadership

  • Chair: Haley Kranstuber Horstman, University of Missouri
  • Vice Chair: Kaitlin Phillips, Utah State University
  • Vice Chair-Elect: Lindsey Thomas, Illinois State University
  • Immediate Past Chair: Kristina Scharp, Rutgers University
  • Secretary: Leslie Nelson, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
  • Student/New Professional Representative: Brittney Morrissey, University of Oklahoma
  • Social Media Manager
    • Brooke Wolfe, University of Washington, Seattle
  • Award Committees
    • Journal of Family Communication Article of the Year Award
      • Leah Bryant
      • Tammy Afifi
      • Kelly Rossetto
    • Kathleen Galvin Teaching and Mentoring Award
      • Jennifer Theiss
      • Erin Salstein Parcell
    • Sandra Petronio Dissertation Award
      • Falon Kartch
      • Emily Scheinfeld
      • Samantha Shebib
    • Leslie A. Baxter Early Career Award
      • Elizabeth Dorrance Hall
      • Kory Floyd
      • Joel S. Ward
    • Distinguished Article and Dawn O. Braithwaite Distinguished Book Award
      • Leah Bryant
      • Sandra Romo
      • Kelly Weikle


2024 NCA Positions

  • Legislative Assembly
    • Kristina Scharp, Rutgers University
    • Haley Kranstuber Horstman, University of Missouri
  • Nominating Committee
    • Kristina Scharp, Rutgers University

FCD Membership (2013-2024)

*Official count taken each January.


Award Calls


Business Meeting Minutes
Interest Group Election