Communication as Social Construction Division

Communication as Social Construction Division logo

Members of the Communication as Social Construction (CASC) Division are committed to promoting conversation and community among scholars whose work advances the idea that communication creates and recreates social worlds through interaction. CASC scholars acknowledge communication processes as central to academic inquiry and practice with recognition of the transformative potential of communication teaching and research. The division is interested in topics related to social constructions of identity and relationships, discord and transformative conflict, and social constructions of the contexts we live in today. Examples of socially constructed contexts to examine may include relationships, media, technology, health, and organizations, the classroom, and culture. We welcome a variety of methodological approaches and submission types such as individual papers or panel discussions. We also acknowledge achievements in excellence by awarding top paper awards in our division. For more information please visit our Facebook page at Communication as Social Construction (NCA).

2024 Interest Group Leadership

  • Chair: Jake Watson, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
  • Vice Chair: Katya Lukianova, Kettering Foundation
  • Vice Chair-Elect: Kara Laskowski, Shippensburg University
  • Immediate Past Chair: Sally Hastings, University of Central Florida
  • Secretary: Kara Laskowski, Shippensburg University
  • Treasurer: Natasha Rascon, Indiana State University
  • Web Manager: Jorge Seifert, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis


2024 NCA Positions

  • Legislative Assembly
    • Jake Watson, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
    • Sally Hastings, University of Central Florida
  • NCA Nominating Committee
    • Jake Watson, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

CSCD Membership (2013 - 2024)

*Official count taken each January.


Award Calls
Business Meeting Minutes


Interest Group Election