Visual Communication Division

Interest Group Award

Listed here are awards given by the Interest Group to its members. Interests Groups are smaller communities within NCA's large membership that provide a range of resources including networking opportunities, Annual Convention programming, leadership opportunities, awards, and specialized information dissemination channels, among others.

Read more about this Interest Group.

Top Scholar Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2018 Roger Stahl, "Seeing through "American Sniper"
2017 Eli Mangold and Charles Goehring, "Toward a Theorization of the Rhetorical Possibilities of Aerial Images"
2016 Tracy Worrell and Kelly Norris Martin, "Investigating reliable measures of visual proficiency and basic design principles"
2015 Garnet C. Butchart, “Meditation on the Semiotic Phenomenology of Roland Barthes’s Camera Lucida: Reflections on Photography”
2015 Stephanie H. Grey, “’Food Will Win the War’: Constitutive Affects of Abundance in WWI Food Propaganda”

Top Student Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2018 Benjamin Firgens, "The Circulation of Destruction from 1939 to 1941 and the Failure of the American Imagination Benjamin Firgens"
2017 Benjamin Firgens, "Mediting Nature: Aldo Leopold's Ethics of Astonishment"
2016 Norma Musih, "Bridging memories: Imagining citizenship in Israel/Palestine"
2015 Christopher Gilbert, “A Prolegomenon to a Twenty-First Century Anamorphic Rhetoric”
2015 Patricia England, “’You Saw Me before I was Born’: Feminists for Life’s college Outreach Program and Women’s (In)Visibility in the Pro-Life Movement”

Outstanding Dissertation Award

Year Award Winner
2016 Sandra Ristovska, "Human Rights Through the Lens: A Study of the Institutionalization and Professionalization of Video Activism"
2015 Caitlin Bruce, “Transitional Art, Transnational Murmurs: Post-Revolutionary Urban Street Art”

Outstanding Essay Award

Year Award Winner
2015 Claire Cisco King “’A Single Man and a Tragic Woman: Gender Politics and the Fag Hag’ in Feminist Media Studies”

Outstanding Book Award

Year Award Winner
2015 Sharia Fahmy, Mary Angela Bock, and Wayne Wanta, Visual Communication Theory and Research: A Mass Communication Perspective (PALGRAVE MACMILLIAN, 2014)

 Diane Hope Book of the Year Award

Year Award Winner
2018 Leslie A. Hahner, To Become an American: Immigrants and Americanization Campaigns of the Early Twentieth Century
2017 Robert Hariman and John Louis Lucaites, The Public Image: Photography and Civic Spectatorship
2016 Casey Ryan Kelly, Abstinence Cinema: Virginity and the Rhetoric of Sexual Purity in Contemporary Film (Rutgers University Press, 2016)

Janis Edwards Article of the Year Award

Year Award Winner
2018 Elinor Light, "Aesthetic Ruptures: Viewing Graffitti as the Emplaed Verncaular"
2017 Damien Smith Pfister and Carly S. Woods, "The Unnaturalistic Enthymeme: Figuration, Interpretation, and Critique after Digital Mediation"
2016 Elizabeth Kaszynski