National and International Awards & Fellowships

Non-NCA Awards

Alexander von Humboldt Fellowships—promotes academic cooperation between excellent scientists and scholars from abroad and from Germany. Whether you are a young postdoctoral researcher at the beginning of your academic career, an experienced, established academic, or even a world authority in your discipline - our research fellowships and research awards offer you sponsorship tailored to you and to your career situation.

American Academy in Rome (Rome Prize)—awarded to thirty emerging artists and scholars in the early or middle stages of their careers who represent the highest standard of excellence in the arts and humanities for sustained study in Rome at the American Academy.

American Academy of Arts & Sciences (Membership)—The Academy membership encompasses over 4,000 Fellows and 600 Foreign Honorary Members and reflects the full range of disciplines: mathematics, the physical and biological sciences, medicine, the social sciences and humanities, business, government, public affairs, and the arts. Among its Fellows are more than 200 Nobel Prize laureates and 100 Pulitzer Prize winners. Nomination to the Academy is a privilege restricted to the Fellowship.

American Academy of Arts & Sciences (Visiting Scholars Program)—an interdisciplinary research fellowship housed at the headquarters of the Academy in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Its purpose is to stimulate and support scholarly work by promising scholars and practitioners in the early stages of their careers and to foster exchange between an emerging generation of scholars and Academy members with shared interests.

American Antiquarian Society (Research and Creative Arts Fellowships)—designed to enable scholars, advanced graduate students, and others to spend an uninterrupted block of time doing research in the AAS library on their projects and discussing their work with others.

American Council of Learned Societies (Fellowship Programs)—ACLS fellowships and grants are awarded to individual scholars for excellence in research in the humanities and related social sciences. The peer-review process used to select ACLS Fellows enables distinguished scholars to reach broad consensus on standards of excellence in humanities research.

American School of Classical Studies at Athens (Fellowship Programs)—Numerous programs supporting research in Greece.

Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts (Fellowships) — Fellowships are for full-time research and scholars are expected to reside in Washington and to participate in the activities of the Center throughout the fellowship period. Lectures, colloquia, and informal discussions complement the fellowship program. Each senior fellow is provided with a study.

Folger Shakespeare Library (Research Fellowships)—The Folger Shakespeare Library offers residential research Fellowships to encourage use of its exceptional collections and to encourage ongoing cross-disciplinary dialogue among scholars of the early modern period. Each year scholars may compete for a limited number of long-term and short-term Fellowships.  Awardees are expected to be in continuous residence and to participate in the intellectual life of the Folger.

Ford Foundation (Fellowship Programs)—The Ford Foundation seeks to increase the diversity of the nation’s college and university faculties by increasing their ethnic and racial diversity, to maximize the educational benefits of diversity, and to increase the number of professors who can and will use diversity as a resource for enriching the education of all students.

Fulbright Programs—The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government. It is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The Fulbright Program provides participants-chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential - with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Guggenheim Foundation (Fellowship)—Often characterized as "midcareer" awards, Guggenheim Fellowships are intended for men and women who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts.

The Huntington Library (Fellowships)—These fellowships derive from a variety of funding sources and have different terms.  Recipients of all fellowships are expected to be in continuous residence at the Huntington and to participate in and make a contribution to its intellectual life.

MacArthur Foundation (Fellows)—Each year, the MacArthur Foundation selects between 20-30 recipients for the five-year, $500,000 MacArthur Fellowship. Between June 1981 and September 2011, 849 Fellows have been named from a range of disciplines. Past recipients have been writers, scientists, artists, social scientists, humanists, teachers, entrepreneurs, farmers, and fishermen, among many others.

Mellon Foundation (Grants)—The Mellon Foundation’s grantmaking philosophy is to build, strengthen and sustain institutions and their core capacities, rather than be a source for narrowly defined projects. As such, we develop thoughtful, long-term collaborations with grant recipients and invest sufficient funds for an extended period to accomplish the purpose at hand and achieve meaningful results.

National Endowment for the Humanities (Grants)—The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) is an independent federal agency created in 1965. It is one of the largest funders of humanities programs in the United States. Because democracy demands wisdom, NEH serves and strengthens our republic by promoting excellence in the humanities and conveying the lessons of history to all Americans. The Endowment accomplishes this mission by awarding grants for top-rated proposals examined by panels of independent, external reviewers.

National Humanities Center (Fellowships)—Outstanding scholars from across the United States and more than thirty other nations have been awarded fellowships for advanced study at the National Humanities Center.

The Newberry Library (Fellowships)—Long-term fellowships are available to post-doctoral scholars for periods of four to 12 months. Applicants for post-doctoral awards must hold a PhD at the time of application (unless otherwise noted). These grants support individual research and promote serious intellectual exchange through active participation in the Newberry’s scholarly activities, including a biweekly fellows’ seminar.

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy Fellows (Fellowships)—Program seeks exceptional mid-career health professionals and behavioral and social scientists with an interest in health and health care who: 1) possess the skills and commitment to use the fellowship experience to provide leadership in improving health, health care and health policy at the national, state or local level; 2) bring a depth of expertise and knowledge about health and health care to the policy-making process; and 3) can offer an informed perspective on important and complex challenges facing health policy-makers.

Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars (Fellowships)—Through an international competition, the Center offers 9-month residential fellowships. Fellows conduct research and write in their areas of interest, while interacting with policymakers in Washington and Wilson Center staff.  The Center accepts non-advocacy, policy-relevant, fellowship proposals that address key challenges of past, present and future issues confronting the United States and the world.