The Kohrs-Campbell Prize in Rhetorical Criticism

Non-NCA Awards

The $10,000 Kohrs-Campbell Prize in Rhetorical Criticism was one of the largest awards ever established to sustain and advance the study of rhetoric in American higher education. This distinctive award offered a biennial book prize through the Michigan State University Press.

The Kohrs-Campbell Prize was created through the generosity of Karlyn Kohrs Campbell and the late Paul Newell Campbell, for the encouragement of original research and scholarship of the highest quality in the field of rhetorical criticism. The Kohrs-Campbell Prize commemorates the distinguished scholarship and dynamic careers of two of the most important figures in the study of rhetoric and rhetorical criticism, Professor Paul Newell Campbell and Professor Karlyn Kohrs Campbell.

The Kohrs-Campbell Prize in Rhetorical Criticism was awarded biennially at the National Communication Association Annual Convention. The prize was discontinued in 2021.

Year Award Winner
2019 M. Kelly Carr, The Rhetorical Invention of Diversity: Supreme Court Opinions, Public Argument, and Affirmative Action
2017 No award given
2015 Michael J. Lee, Creating Conservatism: Postwar Words that Made an American Movement.
2013 Stephen Hartnett, Executing Democracy: Volume Two, Capital Punishment and the Making of America, 1835-1843.
2011 Robert Asen, Invoking the Invisible Hand: Social Security and the Privatization Debates.  
2009 Clarke Rountree, Judging the Supreme Court: Constructions of Motives in Bush v. Gore. 
2007 Trevor Parry-Giles, The Character of Justice: Rhetoric, Law, and Politics in the Supreme Court Confirmation Process.  
2005 Robert E. Terrill, Malcolm X: Inventing Rhetorical Judgment.
2003 Robert C. Rowland & David A. Frank, Shared Land/Conflicting Identity: Trajectories of Israeli & Palestinian Symbol Use.