Communication Ethics Division

Interest Group Award

Listed here are awards given by the Interest Group to its members. Interests Groups are smaller communities within NCA's large membership that provide a range of resources including networking opportunities, Annual Convention programming, leadership opportunities, awards, and specialized information dissemination channels, among others.

Read more about this Interest Group.

Top Single-Author Book of the Year Award

Year Award Winner
2018 Ryan S. Bisel, Organizational Moral Learning: A Communication Approach
2017 Ronald C. Arnett, Levinas's Rhetorical Demand: The Unending Obligation of Communication Ethics (Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press 2017)
2016 David Gunkel, Of Remixology: Ethics and Aesthetics After Remix (MIT 2016)

Top Journal Article of the Year Award

Year Award Winner
2018 Kevin Healey and Richard Potter, "Coding the Privileged Self: Facebook and the Ethics of Psychoanalysis 'Outside the Clinic"
2017 Scott R. Stroud, "Rhetoric, Ethics & the Principle of Charity," Language and Dialogue 7.1(2017), 26-44.
2016 Paula Tompkins, “Acknowledgement, Justice, and Communication Ethics,” Review of Communication 15(2015), 240-257.

Top Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2018 Elizabeth S. Parks, "Ethical Listening across Difference: Inviting Hope for Sustainable Hospitality"
2017 Alexandra Klaren, "Becoming Dialogical: An Inquiry into the Communication Ethics Origins of Mister Rogers' Neighborhood"
2016 Leda Cooks, “Intercultural Communication, Ethics and Activism Pedagogy”

Top Student Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2018 Benjamin Aaron Firgens, "Taking Technology Ethically: Dependency, Care and the Possibilities of Sustainable Rhetorics"
2018 Joel Lansing Reed, "Fomenting Extremism: Producin Polarization in Opposing Primaries and the Ethics of Political Advertising
2017 David impellizzeri, "Recovering the Self and Practical Reason: Charles Taylor at the Intersection of Communication Eithcs, Rhetoric, and Hermeneutics"
2016 Margaret Mullan, “Hope and History Rhyme: Other-ways of Remembering and Forgetting in Northern Ireland”

Top Edited Book

Year Award Winner
2018 Susanna, Priest, Jean Goodwin, and Michael F. Dahlstrom, Ethics and Practices in Science Communication

Leadership & Service Recognition Award

Year Award Winner
2018 John H. Prellwitz

Teaching Award

Year Award Winner
2018 Kevin Healy, University of New Hampshire