Communication Centers Section

Interest Group Award

Listed here are awards given by the Interest Group to its members. Interests Groups are smaller communities within NCA's large membership that provide a range of resources including networking opportunities, Annual Convention programming, leadership opportunities, awards, and specialized information dissemination channels, among others.

Read more about this Interest Group.

Bob and Ann Weiss Competitive Undergraduate Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2015 Ari Zucker, “The relationship between learning styles, feedback, and feedback satisfaction.
2014 Derek Dittmar, “Disability Talk: An Analysis of Visual Impairment in the Speaking Center”

Huddy-Gunn Graduate Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2015 Leanna Smithberger, “Facilitating Learning Through Facilitation: How Facilitation Skills Can Inform Communication Center Tutoring Best Practices”
2014 Carl Brown and Nicole Magee- Assessing Student Participation in the Annual NACC Conference: A Worthwhile Experience”

Joyce G. Ferguson Faculty Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2015 Roy Schwartzman and Rolando Sanchez “Communication Centers as Sites for Identity (Re)Negotiation”
2014 Wendy Atkins-Sayre and Esther Lee Yook

Outstanding Tutor Award

Year Award Winner
2016 Aleke Vehos and Carley Young
2015 Aimee Miller and Shaquana Suggs
2014 Donald Watson and Nicole Magee
2013 Carl Brown
2012 Alyssa Davis
2011 Michael King
2010 April Van Cleve
2009 Danielle Lokaj
2008 Hemalatha Yarragunta

Hobgood Service Award

Year Award Winner
2012 Kathleen Turner

Turner Award for Advocacy

Year Award Winner
2012 Theodore Sheckels

Top-Ranked Panel Award

Year Award Winner
2012 Russel Carpenter, Marlina Davidson, Claire Deal, John Foster, Kate Rempfer, and Bonnie Wetzel, "Celebrating COMMunication Centers' Outreach Programs: Connecting COMMunities, Cultures,and Campuses"

Preston Award for Leadership

Year Award Winner
2016 Marlina Davidson