Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication

Bernard J Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication
NCA Awards for Outstanding Scholarship

The purpose of the Brommel Award is to recognize an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the area of family communication. This contribution may include research published in scholarly publications or leadership in instructional areas. Scholarship is broadly defined to include the spectrum of scholarly writing found in articles published in any journal or by members publishing in major research journals sponsored by other associations or organizations, or in book or monograph form.

Year Award Winner
2023 Jennifer A. Theiss, Rutgers 
2022 Jody Koenig Kellas, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
2021 Maureen P. Keeley, Texas State University
2020 Joy V. Goldsmith, University of Memphis
2020 Elaine Wittenberg, California State University, Los Angeles
2018 Lynne M. Webb, University of Arkansas
2017 Douglas Lee Kelley, Arizona State University
2016 Laura Stafford, Bowling Green State University
2015 Michelle Miller-Day, Chapman University
2014 Lynn H. Turner, Marquette University; Richard West, Emerson College
2013 Alan Sillars, University of Montana
2012 Paul Schrodt, Texas Christian University
2011 Tamara Afifi, University of California, Santa Barbara
2010 Kory Floyd, Arizona State University
2009 John Caughlin, University of Illinois
2008 Steven R. Wilson, Purdue University
2007 Leslie A. Baxter, University of Iowa
2006 Dawn O. Braithwaite, University of Nebraska
2005 Arthur P. Bochner, University of South Florida
2004 Anita L. Vangelisti, University of Texas
2003 Thomas J. Socha, Old Dominion University
2002 Sandra Petronio, Arizona State University
2001 Brant Burleson, Purdue University
2000 Kathleen Galvin, Northwestern University
1999 No award given
1998 John Monsma, Northern Arizona University
1997 Mary Ann Fitzpatrick, University of Wisconsin