Argumentation and Forensics Division

Interest Group Awards

Listed here are awards given by the Interest Group to its members. Interests Groups are smaller communities within NCA's large membership that provide a range of resources including networking opportunities, Annual Convention programming, leadership opportunities, awards, and specialized information dissemination channels, among others.

Read more about this Interest Group.

Top Paper in Argumentation

Year Award Winner
2019 "The Conflict of Callouts: Surviving Competitive Confrontation in Modern Collegiate Debate" Authors: Sarah Dweik, Matthew Parnell, Joseph Provencher
2016 Sean Kennedy
2015 Stephen Llano, “The Tournament is a Singularity”

Top Paper in Forensics

Year Award Winner
2016 Keith Bistodeau
2015 Kristopher Copeland and Kendrea James, “My College Education Has Come From My Participation in the Forensics Team”

Top Student Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2016 Timothy Bill
2015 Pascal Gagné “Transmographs: The Semblance of Political Signification in Affect”
2014 Spencer Harris

Top Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2013 Justin Eckstein, “Yellow Rain: The Acoustics of Strategic Maneuvering”
2012 Susan Sci “Enacting Reverence: The Role of Affect in the International Freedom Center Controversy”

Top Panel Award

Year Award Winner
2019 "Surviving in a Changing Bureaucracy: Strategizing Methods of Re-Legitimizing Speech and Debate Programs" Chair: Katie Marie Brunner Panelists: Stephen P. Hagan, William Heinze, Deano A. Pape, Erica Lamm Respondent: Larry G. Schnoor
Did your Interest Group engage in any fundraising efforts in 2019?
2016 Trent Webb