Activism and Social Justice Division

Interest Group Awards

Listed here are awards given by the Interest Group to its members. Interests Groups are smaller communities within NCA's large membership that provide a range of resources including networking opportunities, Annual Convention programming, leadership opportunities, awards, and specialized information dissemination channels, among others.

Read more about this Interest Group.

Activism and Social Justice Community Engagement Award

Year Award Winner
2022 No award given
2021 Sahar Khamis, University of Maryland
2020 Shardé M. Davis, University of Connecticut

Activism and Social Justice Pedagogy Award

Year Award Winner
2022 Satarupa Dasgupta, Ramapo College of New Jersey, Fresno
2021 Sergio Juárez, California State University, Fresno
2020 No award given

Activism and Social Justice Scholarly Influence Award

Year Award Winner
2022 No award given
2021 No award given
2020 Leandra Hernandez, Utah Valley University

Graduate Student Activist Award 

Year Award Winner
2022 Savannah Greer Downing, University of Georgia
2021 Primavera L. Martinez, California State University, Fresno
2020 Joy Melody Woods, Univerity of Texas at Austin

Top Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2022 Michael F. Klajbor-Smith, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, “#NeverAgain Means Never Again For Anyone: Jewish Memory And Legitimizing Radical Protest”
2021 Stephanie Kaczynski, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, “‘Sixteen Shots and a Cover-Up!’: News Media Discourse of Chicago’s Fight for Police Reform”
2020 Sue Lockyer, San Francisco State University & Christopher "CJ" Koenig, San Francisco State University, "At the intersection of method and empowerment: Lessons from a pilot Photovoice study among Human Trafficking Survivors"


Joshua Paul Ewalt, University of Utah, "Oscillating Scale and Articulating Regions: Exploring Power Geometries as a Genre of Activist Rhetoric in People’s Tribune’s Coverage of Benton Harbor, Michigan"


Billie Murray, Villanova University, "Reimagining Activism as Combative"


Srividya "Srivi" Ramasubramanian, Texas A&M University & Alexandra Sousa, Texas A&M University, "Blurring the Boundaries, Balancing the Tensions: Examining Self-Identity, Risks, Challenges, and Opportunities for Communication Scholar-Activists"


Christina R. Foust, University of Denver & Paige Alfonzo, University of Denver, "“ASHÉ!:” A Media Ecology of the 2015 University of Missouri Protests"
2017 Timothy Paul Huffman, Saint Louis University & Sarah Jane Tracy, Arizona State University, "Making Claims that Matter: Heuristics for Theoretical and Social Impact in Qualitative Research"
2016 Nicholas S. Paliewicz, University of Louisville, "Policing a Climate for Change: The Architecture of Consensus at the 2014 People’s Climate March"

Top Student Paper Award

Year Award Winner
2022 Mohammad Salih, University of Pennsylvania, “Platform Coloniality: Facebook at the Intersection of Capitalism and Nation-State Internal Colonialism”
2021 Yena Kang, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, “#YellowPeril Supports Black Power: Performing Affective Memory Work for Solidarity”
2020 Jeff Tischauser, University of Wisconsin-Madison, "Between social justice scholarship and activism: A methodological toolkit for racial outsiders"


Joshua Ratel- Khan, Syracuse University, "Calling-Out vs. Calling-In: The Internal Rhetoric of Activist Counterpublics"


"Advocating for a Decolonizing Reframing of 'Youth Bullying,'" Carmen Hernandez-Ojeda, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
2018 "Archival Ashes: Nostalgia, Video, and Queer Remains," Amrut Mishra, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
2017 "Between a Rock and a Hard Place: Rhetorical Strategies for Environmental Protection and Cultural Resistance in the Dakota Access Pipeline Movement," Rachel Elizabeth Presley, Ohio University
2016 "'A Global Environmental Movement that Protects Us All': Whiteness, Racial Scripts, and the Southwest Organizing Project’s (SWOP) Letter to the Group of Ten," Christopher Scott Thomas, University of Iowa