2014 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • Jonathan M. Bowman, University of San Diego

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • Natalie Weber

Michael and Suzanne Osborn Community College Outstanding Educator Award

  • Nancy J. Willets, Cape Cod Community College  

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award

  • Donn W. Parson


Scholarship Awards

Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication

  • Lynn H. Turner, Marquette University
  • Richard West, Emerson College 

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • Carolyn Ellis & Arthur P. Bochner, "Autoethnography, Personal Narrative, Reflexivity: Researcher as Subject." In Handbook of Qualitative Research, edited by Norman B. Denzin & Yvonna S. Lincoln (Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2000), 733-768.

Diamond Anniversary Book Award

  • Jennifer L. Bevan, The Communication of Jealousy (Peter Lang, 2013) 
  • Kelly E. Happe, The Material Gene: Gender, Race, and Heredity after the Human Genome Project (New York University Press, 2013)

Donald P. Cushman Memorial Award

  • Kathleen M. de Onis, Indiana University, "Toxic Coloniality: Extracting Natural Gas Industry Rhetoric and Resisting its Appeals"

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • John Louis Lucaites

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Samuel McCormick, Letters to Power: Public Advocacy without Public Intellectuals (Penn State University Press, 2011).

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship

  • Mark Hickson III

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Roi Estlein, Rutgers University. "Manifestations of Responsiveness and Control in Husbands' and Wives' Marital and Parental Communication," (Jennifer A. Theiss, advisor).
  • Adam S. Richards, University of Maryland. "Survival of the Persuasible: An Evolutionary Approach to Interpersonal Influence," (Dale Hample, advisor).
  • Kimberly Alecia Singletary, Northwestern University. "Blackness Personified: Images of U.S. Blackness in Contemporary German Public Culture," (Angela Ray, advisor).
  • James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address
  • Kristina Horn Sheeler & Karrin Vasby Anderson, Woman President: Confronting Postfeminist Political Culture (Texas A&M University Press, 2013).

James L. Golden Outstanding Student Essay in Rhetoric Award

  • Donovan Bisbee, University of Illinois  

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Isaac West

Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance

  • Tami Spry

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • D. Soyini Madison

Mark L. Knapp Award in Interpersonal Communication

  • Leslie A. Baxter

Stephen E. Lucas Debut Publication Award

  • Rohini S. Singh, "It's about Time: Reading U.S.-India Cold War Perceptions through News Coverage of India," Western Journal of Communication 78 (2014): 522-544.


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Larry Schnoor

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Don M. Boileau