2010 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • Dale A. Herbeck, Boston College
  • Karlyn Kohrs Campbell, University of Minnesota

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • Elizabeth G. Hansen

Michael and Suzanne Osborn Community College Outstanding Educator Award

  • Thomas Bovino, Suffolk Community College

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award

  • No award given


Scholarship Awards

Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication

  • Kory Floyd, Arizona State University

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • Dennis K. Mumby, “Modernism, Postmodernism, and Communication Studies: A Rereading of an Ongoing Debate.” Communication Theory 7 (1997): 1-28.

Diamond Anniversary Book Award

  • Debra Hawhee, Moving Bodies: Kenneth Burke at the Edges of Language. (University of South Carolina Press, 2009).

Donald P. Cushman Memorial Award

  • Elizabeth Lenaghan, Northwestern University, “Making Material Matter: How Contemporary Collectors Remediate the Medium of the Book”

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • Craig R. Smith

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • No award given

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship

  • Charles K. Atkins

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Marcia Alesan Dawkins, University of Southern California. “Impurely Raced/Purely Erased: Toward a Rhetorical Theory of (Bi)Racial Passing,” (Randall Lake, advisor).
  • Victor Pickard, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. “Media Democracy Deferred: The Postwar Settlement for U.S. Communications: 1945-1949,” (Robert McChesney, advisor).
  • Jennifer S. Priem, The Pennsylvania State University. “The Illocutionary Force of Hurt and Support in Young Adult Romantic Relationships: Message Features, Message Perceptions, and Physiological Stress,” (Denise Solomon, advisor).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • Robert Asen, Invoking the Invisible Hand: Social Security and the Privatization Debates (Michigan State University Press, 2009).

James L. Golden Outstanding Student Essay in Rhetoric Award

  • Elliot Heilman, Northwestern University

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Lisa B. Keranen

Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance

  • E. Patrick Johnson

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • Mindy Fenske

Mark L. Knapp Award in Interpersonal Communication

  • Brant Burleson

Stephen E. Lucas Debut Publication Award

  • Melanie Loehwing & Jeff Motter, “Publics, Counterpublics, and the Promise of Democracy,” Philosophy & Rhetoric 42 (2009): 220-241.


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Karen A. Foss

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • Sherwyn Morreale