International and Intercultural Communication Division

International and Intercultural Communication Division logo

The International and Intercultural Communication Division (IICD) promotes research and teaching in intercultural, international, and intergroup (including interracial/interethnic) communication. The scholarship featured by the division focuses on these forms of communication as they unfold in multiple settings and contexts, including organizational, political, interpersonal, or mediated. Essential questions investigated by scholars tend to focus on the dynamics of culture and communication and the impact on identity, contact, adaptation, representation, inequality and empowerment, transition, competence, and other factors. The division presents research representing many perspectives and conducted by qualitative, quantitative, and rhetorical methods. The IICD accepts for review individual papers and panels. Every year, the division recognizes outstanding scholarship in the form of article, book, and dissertation awards. The top division paper receives the Ralph Cooley award, and other top papers and top student papers are recognized at NCA’s Annual Convention.


  • Chair: Lisa Hanasono
  • Vice Chair: Fatima Zahrae Alaoui 
  • Vice Chair-Elect: Wei Sun
  • Immediate Past Chair: Shinsuke Eguchi
  • Secretary: Gloria Pindi
  • Publications Office: Bobbi J. Van Gilder
Legislative Assembly
  • Lisa Hanasono
  • Fatima Zahrae Alaoui
  • Wei Sun

IICD Membership 

Official count taken each January.

108th Annual Convention -- New Orleans, LA -- Nov. 17 - 20, 2022

Convention Calls
  • IICD Call -- Deadline: Thu, 3/31 2022 3:00 AM EDT
Award Calls
Business Meeting Minutes
Interest Group Election