NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of Nebraska, Department of Communication Studies

The Department of Communication Studies at the University of Nebraska is nationally recognized as a leader in research and teaching in Communication Studies, and they extend this tradition of excellence to a new generation of scholar-teachers through graduate education. The community is a collaborative one where graduate students develop strong working relationships with their primary advisor, other faculty, and fellow graduate students as they progress through the program. 

Carnegie "Doctoral University: Highest Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-16: 39


Concentrations/Research Emphases

  • Interpersonal, Family, & Intergroup Communication
  • Rhetoric & Public Culture


NRC Assessment of Research-Doctorate Programs

  • #29 of 83 programs in Research Output
  • #12 of 83 programs in Diversity

Allen, et al., 2012

  • #44 of 60 programs by Number of Citations


  • Top Ten Research Program in 13 of 99 Research Areas

Admission Requirements

  • Not specified

Graduate Faculty

  • Professor Dawn O. Braithwaite, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
  • Associate Professor Kristin Hoerl, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Professor Jody Koenig Kellas, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Associate Professor Casey Kelly, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
  • Professor Kathy Krone, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Professor Ronald Lee, Ph.D., University of Iowa
  • Assistant Professor José Ángel Maldonado, Ph.D., University of Utah
  • Assistant Professor Angela Palmer-Wackerly, Ph.D., Ohio State University
  • Professor William Seiler, Ph.D., Purdue University
  • Associate Professor Jordan Soliz, Ph.D., University of Kansas

NCA Awards to Faculty and Students, 2000-present

  • Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award, 2015
  • Becker Distinguished Service Award, 2017
  • Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Family Communication, 2006
  • Kibler Memorial Award, 2016
  • Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award, 2017
  • Woolbert Research Award, 2015
Research Specialties : 
Health Communication, Interpersonal-Small Group Communication, Organizational Communication, Rhetorical Studies