Interpersonal Communication Division

Interpersonal Communication Division logo


Interpersonal Communication Division 2023 Awards Call  

Deadline: Monday, May 1!

The Interpersonal Communication Division exists to (a) stimulate research and scholarship on interpersonal communication; (b) develop and disseminate methods and materials for instruction about interpersonal communication; (c) facilitate communication among those interested in the study of interpersonal communication, both within the association and with other parties; and (d) plan convention programs and preconference workshops dealing with interpersonal communication. The division also honors outstanding scholarship in the form of the Gerald R. Miller book award, the Franklin H. Knower article award, and the Early Career Award, as well as a top dissertation award. In addition, awards are offered for top paper in the division and the top student paper. The top four papers and top student papers are recognized at the division's annual meeting. Finally, each year at the NCA Annual Convention the division hosts a panel in honor of the Mark L. Knapp Award in Interpersonal Communication, which recognizes individuals who have made significant scholarly contributions to the study of interpersonal communication, interaction, and/or relational processes throughout their career.

2023 Interest Group Leadership

  • Chair: Jimmie Manning
  • Vice-Chair: Sandra Faulkner
  • Vice-Chair Elect: Josh Pederson
  • Immediate Past Chair: Rachel McLaren
  • Secretary: Roselia Mendez Murillo
  • Nominating Committee
    • Skye Chernichky-Karcher
    • Elizabeth Hintz
    • Kai Kuang
    • Deborah Yoon
    • Brooke Wolfe
  • Awards Committee
    • Maggie Bennett-Brown
    • Andy High
  • Thesis and Dissertation Awards Committee
    • Kellie Brisini
    • Helen Lillie
    • Jenna McNallie
  • Early Career Award Committee
    • John Crowley
    • Jennifer Kam
  • Gerald R. Miller Book Award/Franklin H. Knower Award Selection Committee
    • Ashley Duggan
    • Yachao Li

2023 NCA Positions

  • Legislative Assembly
    • Lindsey Aloia
    • Jimmie Manning
    • Rachel McLaren
    • Andrea Vickery
  • Nominating Committee
    • Rachel McLaren

ICD Membership (2013-2023)

*Official Count taken each January,

109th Annual Convention -- National Harbor, MD -- November 16 - 19, 2023.


Convention Resources

  • ICD Call -- Deadline: Thursday, March 29, 2023 at 11:59 PM Pacific.
Business Meeting Minutes
Interest Group Election