Golden Anniversary Book Award

Golden Anniversary Book Award
NCA Awards for Outstanding Scholarship

The NCA Golden Anniversary Book Award was presented until 1987 when it was discontinued. Book award nominations are now directed to the Winans/Wichelns Award or the Diamond Anniversary Book Award Selection Committees.

Year Award Winner
1988 Award discontinued
1987 J. Michael Hogan, The Panama Canal in American Politics (Southern Illinois University Press, 1986).
  Tamar Katriel, Talking Straight: Dugri Speech in Israeli Sabra Culture (Cambridge University Press, 1986).
1986 Joshua Meyrowitz, No Sense of Place: The Impact of Electronic Media on Social Behavior (Oxford University Press, 1985).
1985 Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Packaging the Presidency (Oxford University Press, 1984).
1984 Randall L. Bytwerk, Julius Streicher: The Man who Persuaded a Nation to Hate Jews (Stein and Day, 1983).
1983 Charles R. Berger and James J. Bradac, Language and Social Knowledge: Uncertainty in Interpersonal Relations (Edward Arnold, 1982).
1982 Carol Wilder, Rigor and Imagination: Essays from the Legacy of Gregory Bateson (Praeger, 1981).
  Franklyn Haiman, Speech and Law in a Free Society (University of Chicago Press, 1981).
1981 George A. Kennedy, Classical Rhetoric and its Christian and Secular Tradition from Ancient to Modern Times (University of North Carolina Press, 1980).
  Susan B. Shimanoff, Communication Rules: Theory and Research (Sage, 1980).
1980 Barnett Baskerville, The People’s Choice: The Orator in American Society (University Press of Kentucky, 1979).
  Gerald R. Miller and Norman E. Fontes, Videotape on Trial: A View from the Jury Box (Sage, 1979).
1979 Charles R. Gruner, Understanding Laughter: The Workings of Wit & Humor (Nelson Hall, 1978).
1978 No award given
1977 Stephen E. Lucas, Portents of Rebellion (Temple University Press, 1976).
1976 Wilbur S. Howell, Poetics, Rhetoric and Logic (Cornell University Press, 1975).
1975 James J. Murphy, Rhetoric in the Middle Ages, A History of Rhetorical Theory from St. Augustine to the Renaissance (University of California Press, 1974).
1974 No award given
1973 George Kennedy, The Arts of Rhetoric in the Roman World, 300 B.C.-A.D. 300 (Princeton University Press 1971).
1972 Wilbur S. Howell, Eighteenth-Century British Logic and Rhetoric (Princeton University Press, 1971).
1971 Lester Thonssen, A. Craig Baird, and Waldo Braden, Speech Criticism (2nd Ed.) (Ronald Press, 1970).
1970 Loren Reid, Charles James Fox: A Man for the People (Longmans, Green and Co. Ltd., and University of Missouri Press, 1969).
1969 No award given
1968 Donald Geiger, The Dramatic Impulse in Modern Poetics (Louisiana State University Press, 1967).
  Karl Wallace, Francis Bacon on the Nature of Man (University of Illinois Press, 1967).
1967 Garff Wilson, A History of American Acting (Indiana University Press, 1966).
1966 Edwin Black, Rhetorical Criticism: A Study in Method (Macmillan, 1965).
1965 Francis Hodge, Yankee Theatre: The Image of America on the Stage, 1825-1850 (University of Texas Press, 1964).