NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Department of Communication

The Doctor of Philosophy in Communication provides study and training for entry into academic or professional careers that would necessitate theory-driven basic or applied research on communication practices and outcomes. The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee's program thrust emphasizes studying the effects of professional communication practices on organizational goals and structure, the processes of interpersonal communication and conflict resolution, and the conduct of civic practice and public communication.

Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-17: 41


Concentrations/Research Emphases

  • Health Communication
  • Intercultural/Global Communication
  • Interpersonal Communication/Conflict Management
  • Organizational/Professional Communication
  • Rhetoric/Public Communication


Allen, et al., 2012

  • #20 of 60 programs by Number of Citations


  • Top Ten Research Program in 10 of 99 Research Areas

Admission Requirements

  • Online application completed at the UW-Milwaukee Graduate School
  • Statement of Reasons for Graduate Study
  • Graduate Record Examination scores
  • Official copy of all undergraduate transcripts
  • Three letters of recommendation
  • Writing Sample
  • Copy of curriculum vitae

Graduate Faculty

  • Professor Mike Allen, Ph.D., Michigan State University
  • Associate Professor Leslie Harris, Ph.D., Northwestern University
  • Associate Professor John Jordan, Ph.D., University of Georgia
  • Associate Professor Sang-Yeon Kim, Ph.D., Michigan State University
  • Professor Tae-Seop Lim, Ph.D., Michigan State University
  • Professor Kathryn Olson, Ph.D., Northwestern University
  • Assistant Professor Erin Ruppel, Ph.D., University of Arizona
  • Associate Professor Erin Sahlstein Parcell, Ph.D., University of Iowa

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Students, 2000-present

  • Diamond Anniversary Book Award, 2008
  • Golden Anniversary Monograph Award, 2006
Research Specialties : 
Health Communication, Intercultural-International Communication, Interpersonal-Small Group Communication, Organizational Communication, Rhetorical Studies