NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of South Florida, Department of Communication

Graduate study at the University of South Florida Department of Communication emphasizes critical, qualitative, and quantitative research, a comprehensive focus that is unusual among graduate programs in the field of Communication. The department embraces innovative humanistic and social scientific approaches to inquiry and engagement in health, media, organizational and relational communication, with emphases on culture, performance, and social justice.

Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-19: 65


Areas of Study

  • Interpersonal-Small Group Communication
  • Organizational Communication
  • Peformance Studies
  • Health Communication
  • Critical Cultural Studies
  • Media Studies


QS World University RankingsCommunication & Media Studies 

  • #151-200 of 200 World Universities

URAP University Rankings—Language, Communication & Culture 

  • #102 of 300 World Universities


Admission Requirements

  • Application
  • TOEFL Scores (for non-native speakers of English)
  • Official transcripts
  • Letters of Recommendation
  • CV
  • Statement of Purpose
  • Writing Sample

Graduate Faculty:

  • Associate Professor Mariaelena Bartesaghi, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania Professor Ambar Basu, Ph.D., Purdue University
  • Professor Keith Berry, Ph.D., Southern Illinois University
  • Distinguished Professor Patrice M. Buzzanell, Ph.D., Purdue University
  • Associate Professor Marleah Dean Kruzel, Ph.D., Texas A&M University
  • Professor Aisha Durham, Ph.D., University of Illinois Professor Eric Eisenberg, Ph.D., Michigan State University
  • Associate Professor Aubrey Huber, Ph.D., Southern Illinois University, Carbondale Assistant Professor Sonia Ivancic, Ph.D., Ohio University
  • Associate Professor Navita James, Ph.D., Ohio University
  • Assistant Professor Diana Leon-Boys, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Assistant Professor Jianing Li, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Associate Professor Chris McRae, Ph.D., Southern Illinois University
  • Associate Professor Mahuya Pal, Ph.D., Purdue University
  • Associate Professor Josh Scacco, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Professor Steve Wilson, Ph.D., Purdue University

Emeritus Faculty

  • Distinguished Professor Emeritus Arthur Bochner, Ph.D., Bowling Green State University
  • Distinguished Professor Emeritus Kenneth Cissna, Ph.D., University of Denver
  • Distinguished Professor Emerita Carolyn Ellis, Ph.D., SUNY, Stony Brook
  • Distinguished Professor Emeritus Loyd Pettegrew, Ph.D., University of Michigan
  • Professor Emerita Lori Roscoe, Ph.D., University of South Florida
  • Associate Professor Emeritus Fred Steier, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
  • Professor Emerita Jane Jorgenson, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

NCA Awards to Faculty and Students, 2000-present

  • Charles H. Woolbert Research Award, 2014
  • Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award, 2016, 2021
  • Donald P. Cushman Memorial Award, 2021
  • Mark L. Knapp Award in Interpersonal Communication, 2021
  • Marsha Houston Award, 2021