NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of Miami, School of Communication

The University of Miami School of Communication is well-established, founded in the fundamental values of freedom of speech, press and belief, and is constantly moving forward with a visionary purpose. The School is student centered, dedicated to a “hands-on/early-on” learning experience within a globally diverse context. The Doctor of Philosophy in Communication at the University of Miami is a highly individualized program. Students must complete 57 credits beyond the master's degree.

Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-19: 37


Areas of Study

  • None Identified


URAP University Rankings—Language, Communication & Culture 

  • #176 of 300 World Universities


Admission Requirements

  • A Master’s degree in communication, or in another appropriate field, is required of all applicants. The degree must be in addition to a bachelor’s degree. All degrees must be from accredited institutions
  • An official application
  • A $65.00 non-refundable application fee
  • Official transcripts of all college work, both undergraduate and graduate
  • Three letters of recommendation
  • Official Graduate Record Examination (GRE) scores
  • Official TOEFL scores for international students
  • Letter of intent – a minimum 500 word typed statement of academic and professional goals
  • A copy of the completed master’s thesis or comparable scholarly work if no master’s thesis has been completed.

Graduate Faculty

  • Professor Michael Beatty, Ph.D., Ohio State University
  • Assistant Professor Nicholas Carcioppolo, Ph.D., Purdue University
  • Associate Professor Victoria Dunleavy, Ph.D., Michigan State University
  • Assistant Professor Juliana Fernandes, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Professor Tyler Harrison, Ph.D., University of Arizona
  • Assistant Professor Soyoon Kim, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
  • Associate Professor Alyse Lancaster, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Associate Professor Cong Li, Ph.D., University of North Carolina
  • Associate Professor Dianne Millette, Ed.D., West Virginia University
  • Professor Susan E. Morgan, Ph.D., University of Arizona
  • Professor Don Stacks, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Professor Thomas Steinfatt, Ph.D., Michigan State University
  • Assistant Professor Weiting Tao, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Associate Professor Wanhsiu Sunny Tsai, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Assistant Professor Gunwoo Yoon, Ph.D., University of Illinois