NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of Maine, Department of Communication & Journalism

The Master’s program in the Department of Communication & Journalism at the University of Maine was identified as one of the top M.A. programs in the Eastern United States. According to a 1999 external review of the department, Maine's “graduate program is outstanding.” The program is proud that it is described as “among the most rigorous academic master’s programs in the country.” Maine plans to continue that excellent tradition with its new I.Ph.D. The size of the graduate program contributes to a congenial yet professional atmosphere. Each year about 24 graduate students actively pursue graduate degrees. With 10 graduate faculty, the department is able to take a personal interest in students as they work together in courses and on projects.

Carnegie "Doctoral University: High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-17: 9


Concentrations/Research Emphases  

  • Communication Studies
  • Mass Communication
  • Journalism



  • Top Ten Research Program in 9 of 99 Research Areas

Admission Requirements 

  • Graduate School application form
  • Three letters or recommendation
  • Official transcripts of completed coursework
  • Official GRE scores
  • Official TOEFL score(if necessary)
  • A writing sample
  • Cover Letter

Graduate Faculty  

  • Professor Paul Grosswiler, Ph.D., University of Missouri
  • Assistant Professor Bridie McGreavy, Ph.D., University of Maine
  • Assistant Professor Laura N. Rickard, Ph.D., Cornell University
  • Assistant Professor Joshua Roilland, Ph.D., St. Louis University
  • Assistant Professor Judith Rosenbaum, Ph.D., Radbound University Nijmegen
  • Assistant Professor Holly E. Schreiber, Ph.D., Indiana University
  • Associate Professor Michael J. Socolow, Ph.D., Georgetown University
  • Professor Nathan Stormer, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
  • Associate Professor Claire F. Sullivan, Ph.D., University of Washington

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Graduate Students, 2000-present 

  • Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation & Performance Studies, 2003
Research Specialties : 
General Communication Studies, Mass Communication-Media Studies