NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

Texas Tech University, College of Media & Communication

Texas Tech University offers a doctorate in Media & Communication that explores both social scientific and humanistic approaches to human communication research. Their Ph.D. students work with internationally-recognized faculty to create knowledge in both the broad area of human communication and in specialty research areas. Graduates of this program are positioned to be leaders of research and teaching in the university setting, the private sector, for the government, and for non-profit organizations.

Carnegie "Doctoral University: Very High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-19: 107


Areas of Study

  • Advertising
  • Corporate & Organizational Communication
  • Crisis Communication
  • Entertainment & Pop Culture
  • Global & International Communication
  • Health Communication
  • Hispanic & Intercultural Communication
  • Interpersonal Communication
  • Journalism
  • Media Psycho-Physiology
  • Political & Civic Communication
  • Public Relations
  • Science Communication
  • Social Media
  • Speech & Rhetoric
  • Sports Media
  • Visual Communication


URAP University Rankings—Language, Communication & Culture 

  • #169 of 300 World Universities

Admission Requirements

  • Completed Graduate School Application
  • Resume/CV
  • Cover Letter
  • Personal Statement
  • Samples of academic/professional communication work, if any
  • Three letters of recommendation from three current or former professors
  • GRE scores and TOEFL scores (if required)
  • Official transcripts from all colleges and universitites attended

Graduate Faculty

  • Assistant Professor Rauf Arif, Ph.D., University of Iowa
  • Associate Professor Jamie Banks, Ph.D., Colorado State University
  • Associate Professor Shannon Bichard, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Professor Paul Bolls, Ph.D., Indiana University
  • Associate Professor Nick Bowman, Ph.D., Michigan State University
  • Professor Erik Bucy, Ph.D., University of Maryland
  • Professor Coy Callison, Ph.D., University of Alabama
  • Professor Kelli Cargile-Cook, Ph.D., Texas Tech University
  • Associate Professor Todd Chambers, Ph.D., University of Tennessee
  • Assistant Professor Ioana Coman, Ph.D., University of Tennessee
  • Assistant Professor Megan Condis, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Associate Professor Glenn Cummins, Ph.D., University of Alabama
  • Professor Lyombe Eko, Ph.D., Southern Illinois University
  • Assistant Professor Sherice Gearhart, Ph.D., Texas Tech University
  • Assistant Professor Zijian Harrison Gong, Ph.D., Texas Tech University
  • Associate Professor Mark Gring, Ph.D., Ohio State University
  • Associate Professor Amy Heuman, Ph.D., Bowling Green State University
  • Professor Patrick Hughes, Ph.D., University of Denver
  • Associate Professor Kerk Kee, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Assistant Professor Justin Keene, Ph.D., Indiana University
  • Professor Amy Koerber, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
  • Assistant Professor Jenna LaFreniere, Ph.D., University of Denver
  • Assistant Professor Luke LeFebvre, Ph.D., Wayne State University
  • Assistant Professor Asheley Landrum, Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas
  • Associate Professor Catherine Langford, Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
  • Assistant Professor Bryan McLaughlin, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Professor Bolanle Olaniran, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
  • Professor Brian Ott, Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
  • Associate Professor Robert Peaslee, Ph.D., University of Colorado
  • Professor David Perlmutter, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
  • Associate Professor Narissra Punyanunt-Carter, Ph.D., Kent State University
  • Associate Professor Eric Rasmussen, Ph.D., Ohio State University
  • Assistant Professor Héctor Rendón, Ph.D., North Carolina State University
  • Assistant Professor Bobby Schweizer, Ph.D,. Georgia Insitutue of Technology
  • Associate Professor Trent Seltzer, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Associate Professor Miglena Sternadori, Ph.D., University of Missouri
  • Professor Robert Stewart, Ph.D., West Virginia University
  • Professor Kent Wilkinson, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Associate Professor Weiwu Zhang, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin