NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

Ohio University, School of Communication Studies

The mission of the doctoral program in communication studies at Ohio University is simple: Through their research, teaching, and service, scholars from this program seek to improve, entertain, and enlighten the world around them. They feel strongly that their scholarly efforts are directly tied to the academic community that they are able to build. Consequently, they are continually searching for students and faculty who are passionate about their work as scholars.

Carnegie "Doctoral University: High Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-19: 158


Areas of Study 

  • Relating & Organizing
  • Health Communication
  • Rhetoric & Public Culture


QS World University Rankings—Communication & Media Studies

  • #151-200 of 200 World Universities

URAP University Rankings—Language, Communication & Culture 

  • #196 of 300 World Universities



Admission Requirements  

  • To be admitted unconditionally, you must have received a bachelor’s and a master’s degree or completed equivalent work (as approved by the University) at an accredited institution. You must present for evaluation by the graduate committee evidence of your scholarly writing ability. Additional evidence of your ability to pursue study at the doctoral level is required, as documented from previous personal, professional, and academic experi­ences.

Graduate Faculty  

  • Professor Roger Aden, Ph.D., University of Nebraska
  • Professor Austin Babrow, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Professor Benjamin Bates, Ph.D., University of Georgia
  • Professor Christina S. Beck, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
  • Associate Professor Laura Black, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Associate Professor Amy E. Chadwick, Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
  • Professor Devika Chawla, Ph.D., Purdue University
  • Professor Claudia Hale, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Professor Lynn Harter, Ph.D., University of Nebraska 
  • Associate Professor Angela M. Hosek, Ph.D., University of Nebraska
  • Professor Judith Yaross Lee, Ph.D., University of Chicago
  • Professor Jerry L. Miller, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma 
  • Associate Professor Brittany Peterson, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Professor Bill Rawlins, Ph.D., Temple University
  • Associate Professor J.W. Smith, Ph.D., Wayne State University
  • Assistant Professor Stephanie (Robbins) Tikkanen, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Professor Scott Titsworth, Ph.D., University of Nebraska

NCA Awards for Faculty and Students, 2000-present  

  • Woolbert Research Award, 2001, 2003
  • Cushman Memorial Award, 2011, 2016
  • Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award, 2006