NCA Lambda Pi Eta Awards

NCA Awards

Lambda Pi Eta offers five opportunities for outstanding chapters, chapter advisors, and students to receive national recognition for their embodiment of the six goals of Lambda Pi Eta. The winners are presented with their awards during the LPH Business Meeting at the NCA Annual Convention. Advisors and students alike are both eligible and strongly encouraged to submit award nominations.

Learn more about Lambda Pi Eta.

Chapter of the Year Award  

Year Award Winner
2023 Alpha Chi Delta, Lamar University
2022 Lambda, The College of Wooster
2021 Lambda Nu, University of Montevallo
2020 Alpha Beta Upsilon, Temple University
2019 Xi Omega, Bloomsburg University
2018 Beta Upsilon, Slippery Rock University
2017 Eta Pi, University of Alabama 
2016 Omega Delta, Northern Arizona University - Glendale
2015 Phi Omega, Hastings College
2014 Alpha, University of Arkansas
2013 Eta Gamma, Elon University
2011 Sigma Kappa, Christopher Newport University

Rookie Chapter of the Year Award

Year Award Winner
2022 Alpha Zeta Chi, Bemidji University
2021 Alpha Epsilon Nu, Tuskegee University
2020 Alpha Chi Omicron, Marymount University 
2019 Alpha Epsilon Mu, Willamette University 
2018 Alpha Chi Omega, University of Arizona
2016 Alpha Delta Pi, University of South Dakota
2015 Alpha Beta Upsilon, Temple University
2014 Omega Omega, Boise State University 
2013 Alpha Beta Theta, Oregon State University
2011 Psi Rho, University of Nebraska at Omaha

Thomas L. Veenendall Advisor of the Year Award 

Year Award Winner
2023 Erin Brummett, Bloomsburg University
2022 Ashley George, Samford University
2020 Caroline S. Parsons 
2019 Tiffany Wang 
2018 Marie Baker-Ohler
2017 Caroline S. Parsons 
2016 John Perlich 
2015 Narissra Punyanunt-Carter
2014 Deborah Whitt
2013 Frances Ward-Johnson
2012 John Perlich
2011 Stacey Wieland

Jennifer Bender Rookie Advisor of the Year Award

Year Award Winner
2023 Terrell Jake Dionne, University of Arkansas
2022 Tiffani Luethke, University of Nebraska-Kearney
2022 Jennifer Bender, Tuskegee University
2021 Dron Mandhana 
2020 Megan McFarlane
2019 Lori Britt
2017 Aimee Sorensen
2016 Elizabeth Fish Hatfield
2015 Anne Stone & Lindsey S. Aloia 
2014 Jayson L. Dibble
2013 Trischa Goodnow 

Stephen A. Smith (Paper) Award

Year Award Winner
2023 Carly Sedacca, "How Miguel’s Album Kaleidoscope Dream (2012) Normalizes Rape Culture: The Role of Ideology in Musical Rhetoric"
2022 Mattie Hamilton, "A Feminist Rhetorical Analysis of Hillary Clinton’s Keynote at the 2015 Women in the World Summit"
2021 Emma Folts, “Educating Through Piglet: Rhetorical Empathy, Mental Health Literacy and Winnie the Pooh” 
2020 Amber Merklinger, “Avoiding Urban Flight: Positive Deviants Who Stay Home in a Rural Coastal County and Thrive”
2020 Sydney Jones, “The Crossroads of Symbol and Story: Merging Rhetorical Theory and Autoethnography”
2019 Brelynn Hess, “Posting Over the Paint: Instagramming Central European Street Art and Digital Cultural Tourism”
2019 Allison Kennon, “‘Victim’ or ‘Survivor?': Navigating Self-Concept in the Wake of Sexual Violence”
2018 Emily Herbek & Carly Spotts-Falzone, “Altruism and Assertiveness: An Ethnographic Study of the Intergenerational Communication Process of Transmission” 
2017 Katie Scott, “Health Websites and Elaboration Likelihood: Is Online Health Information Changing Patient Message Processing?”
2017 Andrew Boge, “Donald Trump is Batman: How Archetypal Appeals Assisted in Determining Our President”
2016 Garrett Delphia, “‘It Takes a Village’: Communication in Action through Organizational Assimilation”
2015 Elizabeth Brook Phipps
2015 Elizabeth Yeo, Krystal Jin, Tony Joo, Madeline Miller & Clifford Young
2014 Rebecca Leach
2014 Webbo Chen, Jessica Lee, Linda Lumintaintang & James Shim
2013 Rebecca Alt
2013 Arianna Duran, Lauren Armstrong & Benjamin Speegle
2011 Adel El-Adawy
2011 Stephanie A. Villella & Leah Ryan