November 9, 2016 EC meeting minutes

FINAL - APPROVED BY THE EC FEBRUARY 3, 2017

Minutes

National Communication Association Executive Committee Meeting November 9, 2016 Philadelphia

Participating in the meeting

Christina S. Beck, President (presiding); Stephen J. Hartnett, First Vice President; Carole Blair, Immediate Past President; Joseph A. Bonito, Research Board Director; Bonnie Dow, Publications Board Director; Ronald L. Jackson, Second Vice President; Scott Myers, Educational Policies Board Director; Orlando L. Taylor, Finance Board Member (non-voting); Trevor Parry-Giles, Interim Executive Director (non-voting); *National Office Staff*: Mark Fernando, Chief of Staff; Wendy Fernando, Director of External Affairs and Publications; Kim Griffin, Chief Financial Officer; Aaron Tuttle, Digital Strategies and Communications Manager. *Guest*: Star Muir, Second Vice President-Elect *Absent*: Annette Madlock Gatison, Finance Board Director; Sue DeWine, Finance Board Member (non-voting);

1. Call to order

President Beck called the meeting to order on November 9 at 9:01 a.m. Eastern time.

2. Legislative Assembly meeting review

President Beck reviewed the LA meeting agenda with the EC.

3. Website Launch Update

Wendy Fernando and Aaron Tuttle previewed and demonstrated the new website.

4. Farewells to outgoing EC members

President Beck thanked Carole Blair, Joe Bonito, and Annette Madlock Gatison for their generous service on the Executive Committee over several years.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:37 a.m. eastern time.

Respectfully submitted,

Trevor Parry-Giles
Interim Executive Director