## Minutes National Communication Association Executive Committee of the Legislative Assembly Virtual January 11, 2024

Participating in the meeting:

Executive Committee Members: Marnel Niles Goins, President; Jeanetta Sims, First Vice President; Tina Harris, Second Vice President; Walid Afifi, Immediate Past President; Jimmie Manning, Finance Committee Chair/Treasurer; Candice Thomas-Maddox, Finance Committee Director; James Cherney, IDEA Council Chair; Shaunak Sastry, Research Council Chair; Katherine Thweatt, Teaching and Learning Council Chair; Justin Danowski, Interim Executive Director/Secretary (non-voting).

Not present: Kenneth Lachlan, Finance Committee Director; Laurie Lewis, Mentorship and Leadership Council Chair.

## 1. Call to Order

President Niles Goins called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m. Eastern.

## 2. Appointment of a Publications Council Chair

President Nile Goins asked the EC to review candidates to fill the vacant Publications Council Chair position. Discussion ensued.

A motion was made to appoint John Sloop of Vanderbilt University as Chair of the Publications Council with a term ending December 31, 2024. Seconded. Motion carried.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Justin Danowski Interim Executive Director