Visual Communication Division Meeting Agenda (Virtual/In-person)

November 8, 2021

2:00-3:15pm PST/5:00-6:15pm EST

Meeting Facilitator: Julianna Kirschner, Chair of the Visual Communication Division

Attendees (Officers): Julianna Kirschner, Brent Saindon, T.J. Thomson, Chandra Maldonado

Attendees (Non-Officers): Nathan Cederstorm, Max Dosser, Dyah Ahy Wiwid Sintowoko, Christina Knopf, Garnet Butchart, Jill Mitten, Erin Witte, Jessy Ohl, Annie Laurie Nichols, Ruth Beerman, Miranda McCreary, Sarah Partlow Lefevre, Benjamin Firgens, Brandon Bassett, Caitlin Bruce, Susan Keith, Pam Axtman-Barker, Daniel J. DeVinney, Nana, Kwame Osei Fordjour, Lester Olson

I. Call to order

II. Roll Call: Complete Qualtrics survey, which will be distributed during the virtual and inperson business meeting.

III. Approval of minutes from last meeting

- -Meeting minutes were sent out to Vis Comm officers by Chandra before the meeting.
- -Acceptance rate of 58% was added to the 2020 minutes.
- -Minutes Approved.

IV. Announcement of Awards: Awardees were announced at the virtual meeting on November 8. An awards ceremony took place during our division's scheduled in-person meeting time (Saturday, November 20 at 12:30pm PST).

Winners:

Diane S Hope Book of the Year Award:

Dr. Kathleen M. Ryan at the University of Colorado-Boulder for her book, *Pin up!* The Sub-culture. Negotiating Agency, Representation & Sexuality with Vintage Style (Published by Peter Lang).

Janis Edwards Article of the Year Award:

Drs. Susan Keith at Rugers University and Leslie-Jean Thornton at Arizona State University for their co-authored article, Night and Day: A Visual Diptych of Hate and Horror in Charlottesville (published in *Visual Communication Quarterly*).

V. Overview of this year's convention: Presented by Brent Saindon, Vice Chair and 2021 VCD Program Planner

Submissions:

27 Competitive Papers (17 Students), 1 Panel Discussion, 1 Performance Session 20 Accepted Papers (74% Acceptance), 1 Panel, Performance Session Rejected

Programming (11 Slots):

- 7 Competitive Paper Panels, 1 Panel Just for Top Papers
- 1 Panel Discussion
- 2 Spotlight Panels (one was left off last year)
- 1 Division Business Meeting
- ** No submissions were sent to the Scholar-to-Scholar format this year **

Top Student Paper (Cushman Award)

Katrina A. Marks, University of North Carolina -- Chapel Hill "Through a Child's Eyes: Negotiation Empathy and Acknowledgement at Whitney Plantation"

Top Competitive Paper

Brenda Lynn Rourke, Northwest Missouri State University Deya Roy, California State University San Marcos Joy L. Daggs, Northwest Missouri State University John Katsion, Northwest Missouri State University

"Using Emojis to Transform Messages: Manipulating Visual Rhetoric to Achieve Compliance"

VI. Overview of the upcoming convention

From the planner's meeting for 2022:

- The number of slots for divisions is changing in many cases this year. VCD has 10 slots this year which is one less than 2021.
- Submitters should think carefully about whether to include a respondent and only do so to maximize impact
- Stressed the importance of demographic and institutional diversity (on panels, with reviewers, etc.).

- NCA will be in NOLA multiple times over the coming years

VII. Election of a new member of VCD leadership:

Jessy Ohl (University of Alabama) will be our Vice Chair Elect for the division. Jessy will plan the VCD program for 2023 (National Harbor)

VIII. New Business

- -Suggestion for creating a central hub for Vis Comm across multiple associations to create more opportunity for interdisciplinary work. (TJ)
 - *Julianna suggested putting an adhoc committee together to increase the reach
 - *Will discuss via email
- -Julie will contact Justin at the national office about the possibility of upload content to our webpage for the future because accessibility issues.

In-person meeting:

During our in-person division meeting last month, we added an additional section to the by-laws to note the division representatives that will attend legislative assembly meetings each year (chair and immediate past chair). This amendment is section 9 of article 4 (in **bold** in the bylaws below).

Section 9: The Chairperson and Immediate Past Chairperson will serve as representatives of the division at the Legislative Assembly during the convention.

IX. Closing comments

Over 400 people on our VCD mailing list!