# November 18, 2020 LA Meeting Minutes

## **FINAL**

#### **Minutes**

National Communication Association Legislative Assembly Meeting November 18, 2020 Virtual Meeting

**Presiding**: Kent A. Ono, President **Parliamentarian**: William Eichhorn

Recording: Trevor Parry-Giles, Executive Director

### INTRODUCTORY BUSINESS

**Call to Order**: President Ono called the 2020 Legislative Assembly (LA) meeting to order at 12:03 p.m. Eastern time on Wednesday, November 18.

**Introductions**: Members of the LA were asked to introduce themselves by name and the group represented.

**Credentials Report**: First Vice President David McMahan announced that at 12:34 p.m., 132 delegates were registered from the 159 members of the LA. A motion was made that the roll of delegates submitted be the official roll of the voting members of the assembly. Seconded. Motion carried.

**Standing Rules**: President Ono directed the body to the standing rules in the meeting binder. *A motion was made to adopt the standing rules as presented. Seconded. Motion carried.* 

**Agenda**: President Ono directed attention to the proposed agenda. *A motion was made to adopt the agenda. Seconded. Motion carried.* 

# **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

The Legislative Assembly observed a moment of silence to honor those who have passed away during the past year.

- Kenneth Andersen (NCA President, 1983)
- Edward Appel
- Ross Steven Brinkert
- William R. Brown
- Jennings Bryant
- James Chesebro (NCA President, 1996)
- Stephen Dankin O'Leary
- Suzanne Daughton
- Caren Deming
- Rex Gaskill
- Alan Gross (NCA Distinguished Scholar)

- Luster Hauth
- Tegan Lane
- Irwin Malin
- Victoria O'Donnell
- Phyllis Scott Carlin
- Paromita Sengupta
- Deatra Sullivan-Morgan
- Robert K. Tiemens
- Gregory Anthony Tillman
- Barbara Warnick
- Rolf T. Wigand

Trevor Parry-Giles provided a report from the National Office. Rachel Alicia Griffin provided a report from the Diversity Council, J. Kevin Barge provided a report from the Publications Council, Charles Morris III provided a report from the Research Council, and Shannon VanHorn provided a report from the Teaching and Learning Council.

# **Nominating Committee Report.**

President Ono provided a report on behalf of the Nominating Committee. Candidates for Second Vice President were asked to provide a brief statement to the LA. Walid Afifi from the University of California, Santa Barbara and Bonnie Dow of Vanderbilt University each spoke for five minutes about their candidacy.

President Ono called for a 10 minute recess at 1:36 pm. The LA reconvened at 1:46 pm.

#### **BUSINESS ITEMS**

**Nominations for the 2021 Leadership Development Committee:** The LA was asked for nominations prior to the LA meeting for two positions on the 2021 LDC for a two-year term and one-year term to fill a vacancy. The following individuals have been elected by the LA to the LDC: Narissra M. Punyanunt-Carter, Lara Lengel, and Tara Reed.

**Financial Reports**: President Ono introduced Finance Committee Chair Raymie McKerrow to present the financial reports. McKerrow talked about the association's financial status from 2020, followed by budget projections for calendar year 2021. A motion was made by the Finance Committee to adopt the 2021 budget. Discussion ensued. Motion carried.

**Bylaws Revision**: Parry-Giles provided a summary of the proposed bylaws amendment, which was unanimously approved by the Executive Committee. The proposed revision would change the name of the Diversity Council to the IDEA (Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Access) Council. *A motion was made to accept the recommended revisions to the bylaws. Motion carried.* 

**Consideration for new NCA affiliate**: President Ono provided a summary of the proposed new affiliate, the Association of University Presses. The affiliate was unanimously approved by the Executive Committee. *A motion was made to approve the Association of University Presses as an Affiliate of NCA. Motion carried.* 

**Consideration for new NCA Caucus**: La Royce Batchelor provided a summary of the a proposed NCA Indigenous Caucus. Discussion ensued. *The caucus proposal was unanimously approved by the Executive Committee. A motion was made to approve the Indigenous Caucus. Motion carried.* 

#### SPECIAL RECOGNITION

The following individuals have been presented a Presidential Citation for Distinguished Service:

- Star Muir, Officer
- Raymie McKerrow, Finance Committee Chair
- Shannon VanHorn, Teaching & Learning Council Chair
- $\bullet$  Deanna Dannels, Editor, Communication Education
- Debbie S. Dougherty, Editor, JACR
- Todd Sandel, Editor, JIIC
- Melbourne Cummings
- Jesse Delia
- Department of Communication Studies, Colorado State University (host of 2020 Doctoral Honors Seminar)

- Larry Grossberg,
- Marsha Houston
- Wenshu Lee
- · Ramona Liera-Schwichtenberg,
- Gordon Nakagawa
- Thomas Nakayama
- Dolores Tanno
- Judith Trent
- Philip Wander

# **2020 Leadership Development Committee Report**: Committee Chair Star Muir announced the slate of candidates nominated by the committee.

Legislative Assembly

- 1) Ashley Mack
- 2) Sergio Fernando Juarez

Nominating Committee Chair for 2022

1) Ronald L. Jackson

Nominating Committee, General Election Ballot for December 2021

- 1) Raisa Alvarado
- 2) Jordan Atkinson
- 3) Jillian Baez
- Jeremy Cox

Finance Committee

1) Rich West

Resolutions Committee

- Mark Finney
  - 2) Kurt Lindemann

Resolutions Committee Chair

1) David Oh

Convention Committee

- 1) Ariadne Gonzalez
- 2) Goyland Williams

IDEA Council Chair-Elect

1) Cerise L. Glenn

**Publications Council Chair-Elect** 

1) Devika Chawla

**Publications Council** 

- 1) Nick Bowman
- 2) Rachel Dubrofsky

Research Council

- 1) Iccha Basnyat
- Christopher Carpenter

Teaching and Learning Council

- 1) Kristen Blinne
- 2) Andrea Vickery

Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship Or Distinguished Service In Family Communication Selection Committee

1) Shawn Starcher

Diamond Anniversary Book Award Selection Committee

- 1) Teresa Bergman
- 2) Stacey Sowards

Diamond Anniversary Book Award Selection Committee Chair

1) Leah Bryant

Distinguished Scholar Award Selection Committee

1) Angharad Valdivia

Donald P. Cushman Memorial Award for Student Scholarship Selection Committee

- 1) Samuel Hardman Taylor
- 2) Pavitra Kavya

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom Of Expression Selection Committee

1) Jennifer Keohane

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship Selection Committee

1) Mahuya Pal

Golden Anniversary Monograph Award Selection Committee

- 1) Timothy Barney
- 2) Heewon Kim
- 3) Ye Sun

Interpretation/Performance Studies Committee

1) Pavithra Prasad

Marsha Houston Award Selection Committee

- 1) Person A Ashley Hall
- 2) Person B Kandace Harris
- 3) Person C Dana Cloud

Mark L. Knapp Award in Interpersonal Communication Selection Committee

- LeAnne Knobloch
- 2) Denise Haunani Solomon

NCA Legacy Scholarship Selection

1) Jacob Dickerson

Orlando L. Taylor Distinguished Scholarship Award in Africana Communication

1) Ashely Hall

Professional Service Awards Selection Committee

- 1) Steve Beebe
- 2) Mary Stuckey
- 3) Dawn Braithwaite

Professional Service Awards Selection Committee Chair

1) Steve Beebe

Stephen E. Lucas Debut Publication Award Selection Committee

1) Peter Campbell

Committee on International Discussion and Debate

1) John Koch

Doctoral Education Committee

- 1) Ellen Gorsevski
- 2) Robert Mejia

Leathers Fund Trustee Committee

1) Nina Gioci

A motion was made by the Leadership Development Committee to adopt the slate of candidates as presented. Motion carried.

**Adjournment:** With no further business, President Ono adjourned the meeting at 2:35 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Trevor Parry-Giles Executive Director