October 11, 2018 EC Conference Call Minutes

Minutes

National Communication Association Executive Committee Meeting October 11, 2018 Washington, DC

Participating in the meeting:

Ronald Jackson, President (presiding); Star Muir, First Vice President; Kent Ono, Second Vice President; Stephen J. Hartnett, Immediate Past President; David McMahan, Second Vice President-Elect (non-voting); Justin Boren, Diversity Council Chair; Donnie Dow, Publications Council Chair; Mindy Fenske, Research Council Chair; Raymie McKerrow, Finance Committee Member; Trevor Parry-Giles, Executive Director (non-voting); Ronald Shields, Finance Committee Chair; Shannon VanHorn, Teaching and Learning Council Chair; *National Office Staff*: LaKesha Anderson, Director and Academic and Professional Affairs; Justin Danowski, Governance Manager; Wendy Fernando; Director of External Affairs and Publications. Not Present: Marnel Niles Goins, Finance Committee Member.

1. Call to Order

President Jackson called the meeting to order at 2 p.m. Eastern time.

2. Business Items

a. NCA Award Endowment Funds / Award Check Amounts

- i. Parry-Giles provided a summary of NCA award endowed funds as well as past procedures as to amounts administered to NCA National award winners.
 - 1. A motion was made by Muir for the National Office to provide a minimum monetary award of \$500 to each NCA National Award. Seconded by Hartnett. Motion Carried. Ono abstained.

3. Discussion Items

- a. Proposal: Center for Communication, Community Collaboration, and Change
 - i. Jackson provided a summary of the current Proposal for the Center for Communication, Community Collaboration, and Change. Jackson asked the EC for feedback before the proposal is officially submitted at the November EC meeting. Discussion ensued.

4. Adjournment

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:02 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Trevor Parry-Giles Executive Director