July 18, 2018 EC Teleconference Meeting Minutes

APPROVED

Minutes

National Communication Association Executive Committee Teleconference Meeting July 18, 2018

Participating in the meeting:

Ronald Jackson, President (presiding); Star Muir, First Vice President; Kent Ono, Second Vice President; Justin Boren, Diversity Council Chair; Donnie Dow, Publications Council Chair; Mindy Fenske, Research Council Chair; Marnel Niles Goins, Finance Committee Member; Trevor Parry-Giles, Executive Director (non-voting); Ronald Shields, Finance Committee Chair; Shannon VanHorn, Teaching and Learning Council Chair; *National Office Staff*: Justin Danowski, Governance Manager; Wendy Fernando; Director of External Affairs and Publications. Nor present: Stephen J. Hartnett, Immediate Past President; Raymie McKerrow, Finance Committee Member.

1. Call to Order

President Jackson called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. Eastern time.

2. Discussion Topic

a. Diversity & Inclusivity - NCA Journal Editors; Distinguished Scholars

i. Jackson provided a summary of an online petition addressed but not formally submitted to members of the Executive Committee and signed by NCA members. Discussion ensued.

3. Business Items

a. Funding Proposal – NCA Black Caucus

i. Jackson provided a summary of a proposal from the Black Caucus for \$15,600 to produce a video to celebrate its 50th anniversary. Discussion ended. *The EC unanimously voted to approve the funds*.

b. Reconsideration of Distinguished Scholar Endorsements

- i. One asked the committee to reconsider the EC's endorsement decision of Distinguished Scholars from the June meeting. Discussion ensued. *A motion was made by One to endorse:*
 - 1. Wayne Beach
 - 2. James Price Dillard
 - 3. Mary Anne Fitzpatrick
- ii. Seconded by Fenske. Motion Carried

4. Adjournment

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:59 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Trevor Parry-Giles Executive Director