Press Room

Highlighting Communication Research: 2024 Doctoral Honors Seminar at the University of Utah

July 2, 2024

The National Communication Association proudly sponsored the 2024 Doctoral Honors Seminar (DHS), hosted at the University of Utah from June 4 to 7. This event, organized and led primarily by Dr. Andy J. King, but supported by several others in the Utah communication department, gathered 27 doctoral students and nine faculty mentors for learning, mentoring, and networking.


Participants had the chance to dive into three main areas: critical/cultural studies, rhetoric, and social science. With mentors from top universities, the students received invaluable guidance on their research. The mentors included Derek Buescher (University of Puget Sound), Yea-Wen Chen (San Diego State University), Aisha Durham (University of South Florida), Josue David Cisneros (University of Illinois), Michelle Holling (California State University-San Marcos), Billie Murray (Villanova University), Leanne Knobloch (University of Illinois), Patricia Moy (University of Washington), and Ronald Rice (University of California-Santa Barbara).


Seminar Highlights:

  • Professional Development: Workshops covered essential topics like CV building, the publication process, and exploring AI in communication research.

  • Mentoring Sessions: These sessions were the heart of the seminar, providing students with personalized feedback and support.

  • Mindfulness and Reflection: A visit to the nearby beautiful Red Butte Garden allowed mentors and participants to unwind and reflect on their time spent in Utah.


Feedback from attendees was overwhelmingly positive, praising the event’s organization, quality mentorship, and inclusive atmosphere. Some attendees suggested earlier acceptance notifications and better accommodations for students in future seminars.


The NCA National Office thanks the University of Utah planning committee and all participants for their effor in making the 2024 DHS a success. We look forward to continuing to support the growth and development of communication scholars and their research.