NCA's Doctoral Program Guide

University of Michigan, Department of Communication Studies

The mission of the Department of Communication Studies at the University of Michigan is to study and teach about the mass media and emerging media: their evolution, their effects, their uses by everyday people, and their regulation and industry practices. They are dedicated to cultivating a thorough-going media literacy among our students, and to producing cutting-edge scholarship about the media’s impact on individuals and society. They have a highly sought-after and rigorous undergraduate concentration, world-renowned faculty, a prestigious interdisciplinary Ph.D. program, and a large cohort of dedicated and successful alumni.

Association of American Universities Member


Carnegie "Doctoral University: Highest Research Activity"


Communication doctorates conferred between 2010-15: 34


Concentrations/Research Emphases 

  • Mass Media Effects
  • Media, Culture, & Society
  • Political Communication


NRC Assessment of Research-Doctorate Programs

  • #6 of 83 programs in Research Output
  • #2 of 83 programs in Diversity

Allen, et al., 2012

  • #8 of 60 programs by Number of Citations


  • Top Ten Research Program in 11 of 99 Research Areas

QS World University Rankings--Communication & Media Studies

  • #19 of 200 World Universities

Admission Requirements 

  • Application
  • Transcripts
  • Statement of Purpose
  • Personal Statement
  • Letters of Recommendation
  • GRE Scores
  • English Proficiency Scores for International Applicants

Graduate Faculty 

  • Assistant Professor Megan Sapnar Ankerson, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Assistant Professor Andre Brock, Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Professor Scott Campbell, Ph.D., University of Kansas
  • Associate Professor Robin Means Coleman, Ph.D., Bowling Green State University
  • Associate Professor Sonya Dal Cin, Ph.D., University of Waterloo
  • Professor Susan Douglas, Ph.D., Brown University
  • Assistant Professor Reighan Gillam, Ph.D., Cornell University
  • Professor Kristen Harrison, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin 
  • Assistant Professor Sol Hart, Ph.D., Cornell University
  • Professor L. Rowell Huesmann, Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University
  • Assistant Professor Muzammil Hussain, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Assistant Professor Shazia Iftkhar, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Associate Professor Nojin Kwak, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Associate Professor Amanda Lotz, Ph.D., University of Texas
  • Assistant Professor Josh Pasek, Ph.D., Stanford University
  • Assistant Professor Aswin Punathambekar, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  • Assistant Professor Muniba Saleem, Ph.D., Iowa State University
  • Associate Professor Christian Sandvig, Ph.D., Stanford University
  • Assistant Professor Scott Selberg, Ph.D., New York University
  • Professor Katherine Sender, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts
  • Assistant Professor Julia Sonnevend, Ph.D., Columbia University
  • Professor Stuart Soroka, Ph.D., University of British Columbia
  • Associate Professor Derek Vaillant, Ph.D., University of Chicago
  • Assistant Professor Brian Weeks, Ph.D., Ohio State University

NCA Awards Received by Faculty and Students, 2000-present 

  • Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award, 2005, 2006
Research Specialties : 
Mass Communication-Media Studies, Political Communication