2005 NCA Award Winners

NCA Award Winners by Year

Teaching Awards

Donald H. Ecroyd Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education

  • Robert C. Rowland, University of Kansas

Marcella E. Oberle Award for Outstanding Teaching in Grades K-12

  • Nancy Bordewyk

Michael and Suzanne Osborn Community College Outstanding Educator Award

  • No Award Given

Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award

  • Joe Ayres


Scholarship Awards

Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication

  • Arthur P. Bochner, University of South Florida

Charles H. Woolbert Research Award

  • Robert Entman, “Framing: Toward Clarification of a Fractured Paradigm,” Journal of Communication 43 (1993): 51-58.

Diamond Anniversary Book Award

  • Daniel C. Hallin and Paolo Mancini, Comparing Media Systems: Three Models of Media and Politics. (Cambridge University Press, 2004).

Douglas W. Ehninger Distinguished Rhetorical Scholar Award

  • Janice Hocker Rushing

Franklyn S. Haiman Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Freedom of Expression

  • Steven P. Brown, Trumping Religion, The New Christian Right, The Free Speech Clause, and the Courts (University of Alabama Press, 2002).

Gerald M. Phillips Award for Distinguished Applied Communication Scholarship

  • Philip Palmgreen

Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards

  • Christina R. Foust, University of North Carolina. “Transgressing Subjects, Rhetorical Mediation, and the Multitude: Towards a Nietzschean Theory of Resistance in Neo-liberal Globalization.” (J. Robert Cox, advisor).
  • Dmitri Williams, University of Michigan. “Trouble in River City: The Social Impact of Video Games,” (Susan J. Douglas & W. Russell Neuman, advisors).

James A. Winans-Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address

  • John M. Sloop, Disciplining Gender: Rhetorics of Sex Identity in Contemporary U.S. Culture (University of Massachusetts Press, 2004).

James L. Golden Outstanding Student Essay in Rhetoric Award

  • Mary Lynn Veden, University of Washington

Karl R. Wallace Memorial Award

  • Alisse Portnoy

Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance

  • Paul H. Ferguson

Lilla A. Heston Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Interpretation and Performance Studies

  • Shannon Jackson


Service Awards

Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award

  • Lois J. Einhorn

Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award

  • James L. Gaudino